Citation Resources
Citing in Chicago (Notes-Bibliography) Style:
Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes.
Book with a single author or editor
Footnote: Miles, Steven B. Upriver Journeys : Diaspora and Empire in Southern China, 1570-1850 (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Asia Center, 2017),10.
Bibliography: Miles, Steven B. Upriver Journeys : Diaspora and Empire in Southern China, 1570-1850. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Asia Center, 2017.
Journal article from an online database
Footnote: Shelly Chan, "The Case of Diaspora: A Temporal Approach to the Chinese Experience," The Journal of Asian Studies 74, no. 1 (2015): 115, https://www.jstor.org/stable/43553646.
Bibliography: Chan, Shelly. "The Case of Diaspora: A Temporal Approach to the Chinese Experience." The Journal of Asian Studies 74, no. 1 (2015): 107-128. https://www.jstor.org/stable/43553646.
Newspaper article from an online database
Footnote: Tiffany Tan, "Chinese, Yet More," China Daily, June 22, 2014, Access World News.
Bibliography: Tan, Tiffany. "Chinese, Yet More." China Daily, June 22, 2014. Access World News.
Image from an online database
Footnote: Anti-Chinese Riot in Denver, Colorado, November 20, 1880, lithograph, in Frank Leslie's 'Illustrated Newspaper', China, America & the Pacific, http://www.cap.amdigital.co.uk/Documents/Details/BRIDGE_PNP_36752.
Bibliography: Anti-Chinese Riot in Denver, Colorado. November 20, 1880. Lithograph. In Frank Leslie's 'Illustrated Newspaper'. China, America & the Pacific. http://www.cap.amdigital.co.uk/Documents/Details/BRIDGE_PNP_36752.
Chicago Style Resources:
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
Citing in APA Style:
Book with a single author or editor
(Miles, 2017, 10)
Miles, S.B. (2017). Upriver journeys : Diaspora and empire in southern China, 1570-1850. Harvard University Asia Center.
Journal article from an online database
(Chan, 2015, 115)
Chan, S. (2015). The case of diaspora: A temporal approach to the Chinese experience. The Journal of Asian Studies 74(1): 107-128. https://www.jstor.org/stable/43553646.
Newspaper article from an online database
(Tan, 2014)
Tan, T. (2014, Jun 22). Chinese, yet more. China Daily.
Image from an online database
(Anti-Chinese Riot, 1880).
Anti-Chinese Riot in Denver, Colorado [Lithograph]. (1880, Nov 20). In Frank Leslie's 'Illustrated Newspaper'. http://www.cap.amdigital.co.uk/Documents/Details/BRIDGE_PNP_36752.
APA Style Resources:
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019Available in Dinand, Music and Science Library Reference.
Citing in MLA Style:
Book with a single author or editor
(Miles 10).
Miles, Steven B. Upriver Journeys : Diaspora and Empire in Southern China, 1570-1850. Harvard University Asia Center, 2017.
Journal article from an online database
(Chan 115).
Chan, Shelly. "The Case of Diaspora: A Temporal Approach to the Chinese Experience." The Journal of Asian Studies, vol. 74, no. 1, 2015, 107-128. JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/stable/43553646.
Newspaper article from an online database
(Tan)
Tan, Tiffany. "Chinese, Yet More." China Daily, 22 June, 2014. Access World News, permalink goes here.
Image from an online database
(Anti-Chinese Riot)
Anti-Chinese Riot in Denver, Colorado. November 20, 1880. In Frank Leslie's 'Illustrated Newspaper'. China, America & the Pacific, http://www.cap.amdigital.co.uk/Documents/Details/BRIDGE_PNP_36752.
MLA Style Resources:
