SOCL 490: Honors Colloquium (Beard): Home

The “Exploding Article” was originally described by Iris Jastram on her Pegasus Librarian blog on 2/13/2008. 

Here are some recommended discipline-specific databases:

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Scopus delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. The database features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

More than 60 million journal records in Scopus, which includes:

• Over 21,500 peer-reviewed journals, of which more than 4,200 are full open access
• Over 360 trade publications
• Publications from more than 5,000 international publishers, including Cambridge University Press, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Nature Publishing Group, Springer, Wiley-Blackwell and, of course, Elsevier
• Articles-in-press (i.e., articles that have been accepted for publication) from more than 5,000 titles

More than 130,000 books, available in Scopus and 10,000 added each year.

• Plus, more than 1100 Book Series containing over 34,000 individual volumes
• Subject areas: Focus on Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities, but also  includes Science, Technology & Medicine (STM)
• Coverage years: Back to 2003 for all subject areas
• Book types: Monographs, edited volumes, major reference works, and graduate level text books

The information for this LibGuide is from the Elsevier Scopus site - https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/scopus.

SEARCH

Finding the right result is the essential first step to uncovering trends, discovering sources and collaborators, and building further insights. Effective search tools in Scopus help you to quickly identify the right results from over 57 million records. Search in the following ways:

• Document search: Search directly from the homepage and use detailed search options to ensure you find the document(s) you want
• Author search: Search for a specific author by name or by ORCID (Open Research and Contributor Identifier) ID
• Affiliation search: Identify and assess an affiliation’s scholarly output, collaborating institutions and top authors.
• Advanced search: Narrow the scope of your search using field codes, proximity operators and/or Boolean operators.
• Refine results: Scopus makes it easy to refine your results list to specific categories of documents.
• Language interface: The Scopus interface is available in Chinese and Japanese. Content is not localized, but you can switch the interface to one of these language options (and switch back to English, the default language) at the bottom of any Scopus page. Note: By default, Scopus will appear in the language selected in your browser settings, unless your institution has specified otherwise or the language is not supported by Scopus (in which case, the interface will be in English).

Check out the Basic Search and Search Hints for additional help.

Check out the Quick Reference Guide or watch a video tutorial provided by Scopus for more information.

Check out the library's e-journals list to search for articles in specific journals. For example:

• Sociology of Health & Illness 
• Journal of Aging Studies
• American Sociological Review
• Social Science & Medicine
• Qualitative Health Research
• Culture, Medicine & Psychiatry
• American Anthropologist 
• Journal of Health & Social Behavior 
• Patient Education & Counseling 
• Health Sociology Review 
• Gender & Society 
• Social Problems 
• American Journal of Sociology 
• British Journal of Sociology

Google Scholar is a great tool for doing a broad search of scholarly literature on your topic:

• Google Scholar searches across many disciplines. 
• Your search results will include a broad range of sources, including journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, and abstracts. 
• Results come from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. 
• Google Scholar also includes court opinions and patents.

You'll just want to keep some things in mind:

• Coverage is not comprehensive. Many sourcess are hidden in publishers' databases and journals that Google can't search, so you'll want to look at other databases as well. 
• Search results can include links to things like course syllabi and high school term papers, so you'll want to evaluate what you find. 

You can access advanced search features by clicking the arrow in the right of the search box. These features allow you to refine your search.

Look for the words Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross next to an article. You should be able to access any of these articles through the library's subscriptions. If you come across a source that Holy Cross does not have access to, remember that you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Scholar Settings When you are on the Holy Cross campus, Google Scholar will automatically show you those Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross links next to articles that Holy Cross has access to. If you are off-campus, you can set your Scholar Settings to show the links for accessing sources through Holy Cross. You can modify your settings by selecting the Settings link in the upper-right corner of Google Scholar webpage.

Click on the Cited by and Related articles links at the bottom of a search result to find more relevant articles and books.