VAHI 250: Making the Modern City (Finstein)

Archives & Distinctive Collections

The third floor of Dinand Library hosts the Archives & Distinctive Collections. The College Archives preserve the history of Holy Cross (which is often simultaneously the history of Worcester). The Distinctive Collections hold some of the most unique items in the College's collections, from politicians' papers to rare / historical books. 

Both collections may have value to you for this project!  Here are some tips to keep in mind if you are considering venturing upstairs: 

• Archives & Distinctive Collections are located on the 3rd floor of Dinand Library.  They are open during the week (Mon-Fri) by appointment only 9am-12pm, and for general research (no appointment needed) 1-4pm.  They are also open 6-9pm Mon & Tues evenings.
   
• Although appointments are only required in the mornings, it is highly recommended that you reach out to the (very helpful!) staff before your visit for guidance and to let them know what materials you would like to view. You can contact them at archives@holycross.edu. 
   
• Before visiting, make sure you are familiar with the policies and procedures. Note especially that you are not allowed to use pens or highlighters in the reading room, to protect the materials, but lockers are provided to store any such items as well as food, drink etc. 
   
• Archival research does not come with electronic searching, and can be an exciting (but time-consuming) journey! -- make sure you leave yourself plenty of time to browse the collections and to digest what you find. And, be sure to take excellent notes!