Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the United States and Canada, 1450-present.
Date(s): 1821-1837
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester.
Date(s): 1838-1852
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester.
Biographies of important individuals in United States history. **Limited to 1 user at a time. Please click "Sign out" and close the website when you are done.
Date(s): 1800s
Citations for 19th-century books, periodicals, newspapers, and archival sources. Searching Guide
Journal articles, books and dissertations focusing on literature and literary criticism, language, and publishing.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
Considered the authoritative dictionary of the English language.
When searching for articles, the following tips may give you better results:
Not all databases contain the full text of every document that is listed within them. An index is a list of documents relevant to a given subject, that can be searched for discovery purposes, but will not link to the full text of the article or document. There are two ways to access articles from an index:
icon, if it shows up. If the document exists somewhere else in Holy Cross's holdings, this button will resolve to it. If we don't have the document, it will take you to a page that says the document is not available and suggest that you use Interlibrary Loan.A database is a collection of materials that is (in most cases) focused on a specific discipline or topic. These are curated and searchable. Interdisciplinary databases, like JSTOR, exist, but they typically still have certain strengths and weaknesses: JSTOR is an excellent interdisciplinary database, but primarily for the humanities.
By contrast, a journal is a single publication. It is also focused on a specific topic or discipline -- journals tend to be more specific than databases, and all of the articles are approved by a specific group of editors, just like other periodical publications, e.g. newspapers and magazines. Journals are frequently also ranked by how well-known or prestigious they are in a given field, which lends authority to the articles published within them -- databases typically aren't given rankings.