Skip to Main Content
     

RELS 221: Women in Early Christianity (Johnson Hodge)

Fall 2024

Citing Sources

Basics of Chicago Style: 

Below are some common examples to get you started using Chicago (Notes-Bibliography) Style. 
Note:  Although Chicago Notes-Bib. typically calls for the use of footnotes, you may use in-text citations for this paper if you prefer. Examples for how to do this are included for each citation below. 

Journal article from an online database

In-text option: (Zängle, 327). 

Footnote:
Michael Zängle, "Trends in Papal Communication: A Content Analysis of Encyclicals, from Leo XIII to Pope Francis," Historical Social Research 39, no. 4 (2014): 327.

Bibliography:
Zängle, Michael. "Trends in Papal Communication: A Content Analysis of Encyclicals, from Leo XIII to Pope Francis." Historical Social Research 39, no. 4 (2014): 329-364. 

Book with a single author 

In-text option:  (Schwartz, 10). 

Footnote:
Daniel Scwhartz, Aquinas on Friendship (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007), 10.

Bibliography:
Schwartz, Daniel. Aquinas on Friendship. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007. 

Chapter in an edited collection/book

In-text option:  (Donagan, 325-326). 

Footnote:
Alan Donagan, "The Scholastic Theory of Moral Law in the Modern World," in Aquinas: A Collection of Critical Essays, ed. Anthony Kenny (Palgrave Macmillan: London, 1969), 325-326. 

Bibliography:
Donagan, Alan. "The Scholastic Theory of Moral Law in the Modern World." In Aquinas: A Collection of Critical Essays, edited by Anthony Kenny, 325-339. Palgrave Macmillan: London, 1969.

Citing the Bible: 

[Guidelines provided by Prof. Caroline Johnson Hodge] 

You do not need to do a footnote for biblical citations; just cite them in parentheses in the text (like the above example). You should make a general note in the bibliography (at the end) regarding which version of the Bible you used.

In text: 
Paul is talking about baptism when he writes “There is no longer Jew or Greek, slave or free, male and female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus” (Gal 3:28). 

Bibliography: 
The HarperCollins Study Bible : New Revised Standard Version. San Francisco: HarperOne, 2006. 

**Note that annotations or supplementary explanation in study bibles, like the ones recommended for this course, are cited differently than the biblical text itself. To cite these kinds of sources, see page 4 of the Student Supplement for the SBL Handbook of Style. **

Citing Oremus Bible Browser: 

[Guidelines provided by Prof. Caroline Johnson Hodge] 

In text: 
Paul is talking about baptism when he writes “There is no longer Jew or Greek, slave or free, male and female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus” (Gal 3:28). 

Bibliography: 
Oremus Bible Browser (NRSV). 1 Peter 2:18-3:7, Edited 29 Apr. 2019; https://bible.oremus.org; accessed October 18, 2020.

Citing Other Ancient Texts: 

[Guidelines provided by Prof. Caroline Johnson Hodge] 

The first time you cite an ancient text, you should cite the ancient source in the text itself (with title and chapter or section number in parentheses) AND include a footnote that cites the source of the English translation: 

In text: Soranus says that “women benefit from daily exercise” (Gynecology 3.5). 

Accompanying footnote:  Translated by E. B. White, Studies of Soranus (Minneapolis, MN: Fortress, 1998), 39. 

After that, if using the same translation for the same author, you can just cite the ancient text: 

In text: Soranus addresses the issue of the common cold (Gynecology 5.2).

Additional Resources: