Student Guide to Library & Archives Services

STUDENT SERVICES: 

Here are some of the key things HC Libraries can do for you! 

BOOKS & OTHER MATERIALS

• Borrowing:  Borrow books that we own for one semester 
• Course Reserves: Many assigned course texts are available to you on course reserves in all 3 libraries -- ask at the front desk! 
• Interlibrary Loan: Borrow books and get copies of other articles, for FREE! You can request this via certain databases or through the Interlibrary Loan form on our website.
• Worcester Art Museum Library: The WAM Library is one of our HC Libraries. As an HC student, you can visit WAM's collections for free, consult with the librarian, and check out books from the library. 
• Online Research: Access 300+ online databases -- including online journal articles, streaming media, images, datasets and more -- from anywhere using your Google username and password. 
• Special Collections: Explore the history of Worcester, the College and more in the collections of the College Archives & Distinctive Collections on Dinand's 3rd floor. 
  

SPACES & EQUIPMENT 

• 4 Libraries: Holy Cross has 3 campus libraries  (Dinand, Fenwick Music Library and O'Callahan Science Library) and 1 off-campus library (Worcester Art Museum Library). 
• Print & Scan: Print and scan for free in all 3 campus libraries. 
• Computers & Software: Access to desktop computers in all 3 campus libraries, including Dinand's Scalia Lab, and specialized software. 
• Study: The Libraries contain a variety of study spaces ranging from collaborative areas to silent study zones. When the weather's nice, visit the outdoor patio!  

RESEARCH SUPPORT 

• Chat Service:  Chat 24/7 with librarians from Holy Cross and other Jesuit schools via via AJCU Virtual Reference
• Email: Contact any of our librarians or, for fastest response, contact libref@holycross.edu
• Research Appointments: Schedule a Personal Research Session (with a librarian) or a Peer2Peer Consultation (with our Peer Research Consultants) for a one-on-one meeting tailored to your specific needs. We can help with any part of your research process, from developing a topic all the way to the bibliography.
• Department Librarians: Every major department on campus has a designated librarian -- get to know yours! 
• Research Desk: Visit the desk in the Main Reading Room or Science Library for drop-in help from librarians and student assistants.
• Online Resources: Visit our online research guides, tutorials and FAQ. 

WHO DO I CONTACT ABOUT...?