O'Callahan Science Library
The O’Callahan Science Library has over 95,000 physical volumes and increasing numbers of electronic product occupies the entire first floor of Swords Hall, the central portion of the five-building Integrated Science Complex. The Science Library subscribes to over 50 major article databases just in the science disciplines, which contain access to thousands of journals.
The Library serves Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science and Physics, as well as the more neuroscientific side of Psychology.
Library Hours
You Should Know
For PSYC 299, you should know the following library research skills:
- How to access the libraries' homepage, and library databases including PsycINFO, Biological Abstracts, and CrossSearch
- How to brainstorm keywords and synonyms for your topic
- How to evaluate resources that you find in a database, and identify various types of articles including primary research articles, secondary review articles, and general articles
- How to read a citation to identify authors names, article titles, journal titles, volume and issue numbers, dates, and doi numbers.
- How to find the full text of an article using citation information
- How to find the full text of an article, and how to use interlibrary loan to access articles we do not own in the libraries' collections
- How to read a scholarly article
- How and when to cite sources
This online guide covers many of these topics. If you have any questions, please reach out to Science Librarian Laura Wilson (contact information is on the "Help" page of this guide).
Reserve a Study Room
Students are able to reserve a study room in the Science Library for 2 hour blocks of time, up to one week in advance.
Please note: At this time, Study Room 1 is the only group study room that can be reserved. Study Rooms 2-4 are still open on a first-come, first-served basis.