Dinand Library
As part of a post-World War I campus expansion, Dinand Library was originally designed by the Boston architectural firm of Maginnis & Walsh to be a defined space for study on the campus. Named in honor of Bishop Joseph N. Dinand, S.J. who served as President of Holy Cross from 1911-1918 and from 1924-1927, the library was dedicated in 1927 and renovated in 1979 when the Hiatt wings were added. Dinand Library is located at the center of campus and is the main campus library.
O'Callahan Science Library
The O’Callahan Science Library has over 95,000 physical volumes and increasing numbers of electronic product occupies the entire first floor of Swords Hall, the central portion of the five-building Integrated Science Complex. The Science Library subscribes to over 50 major article databases just in the science disciplines, which contain access to thousands of journals.
The Library serves Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science and Physics, as well as the more neuroscientific side of Psychology.
You Should Know
For ENVS 299, you should know the following library research skills:
- How to access the libraries' homepage, CrossSearch database, and individual research databases such as JSTOR, ProQuest Central, Westlaw, MLA International Bibliography, and America: History and Life
- How to brainstorm for keywords on your topic, and how to use information about articles and books to find more keywords related to your topic
- How to search CrossSearch to find books available in the HC Libraries, and how and where to access print materials
- How to use keywords to search databases, find the full text of an article, and how to use interlibrary loan to access articles we do not own in the libraries' collections
- How and when to cite sources
This online guide covers many of these topics. If you have any questions, please reach out to Science Librarian Laura Wilson (contact information is on the "Help" page of this guide).