Librarian
Ask a Librarian
A Guide to...
Timeline of Art History
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThe Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. Authored by the Met’s experts... the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
CrossSearch
Visit the Libraries' homepage to use our discovery tool, CrossSearch.
CrossSearch provides a single starting point for your research by collecting most of our research resources -- the catalog, research databases, open-access journals and more -- behind a single search box. Once you have begun to search CrossSearch, you can fine tune your results to focus on specific types of resources, publication dates, subject areas, and more.
Watch this video
to learn more about using CrossSearch. Or, visit our CrossSearch Guide.
Research Sources
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles about city and landscape architecture, design, etc.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Now part of JSTOR. Library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, and book chapters about art, art history, architecture, and design.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibit catalogs about art, published 1975-2007.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of important reference works in the visual arts, including The Concise Dictionary of Oxford Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Oxford Reference Books: Art & Architecture This link opens in a new window
Art and architecture encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books, published by Oxford University Press.
Grove Art Online video
Free Art & Architecture Books Online
- OTH Bookshelf: Art and Art HistoryNearly 200 academic OPEN ACCESS titles in the areas of art and art history, focusing on books that would be of most interest and value to HSS (humanities and social science) scholars and students. - organized by "Oh the Humanities!" the newsletter for librarians, publishers, and faculty in the humanities
Interlibrary Loan
- Illiad Interlibrary LoanCreate your account and manage requests. You will be able to conveniently place requests for books from directly within WorldCat
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.
Chicago Manual of Style (Notes-Bibliography)
As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition.
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition.
Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation.
Book with a single author or editor
First footnote: Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Temple University Press, 2020), 10.
Second footnote: Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10.
Bibliography: Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Temple University Press, 2020.
Journal article from an online database
First footnote: Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Second footnote: Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10.
Bibliography: Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Online newspaper/magazine article
First footnote: Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central.
Second footnote: O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants."
Bibliography: O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central.
Page from a website
First footnote: "Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Second footnote: "Classics."
Bibliography: College of the Holy Cross. "Classics." Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition.
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition.
Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation.
Book with a single author or editor
First footnote: Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2020), 10.
Second footnote: Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10.
Bibliography: Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2020.
Journal article from an online database
First footnote: Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Second footnote: Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10.
Bibliography: Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Online newspaper/magazine article
First footnote: Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central.
Second footnote: O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants."
Bibliography: O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central.
Page from a website
First footnote: "Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Second footnote: "Classics."
Bibliography: "Classics." College of the Holy Cross. Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition.
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition.
Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition:
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (18th ed.)Call Number: Reference Z253 .U69 2024ISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: Sept 2024Copies in Dinand, Science and Music
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition:
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
