This is the "Home" page of the "Economics Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics Research  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.holycross.edu/economics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SEARCH TIPS

Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms. 

Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

 

FIND FULL-TEXT ARTICLES

Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article?

Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article...

1. Check the Holy Cross Libraries' Catalog to find the journal in print or in electronic format by searching in the TITLE field for the name of the JOURNAL (not the article name): HC Catalog

2. If the catalog does not produce positive results, check the Electronic Journals A-Z List  by searching for the Journal name (not the article name) in the "Find" box.

3. If the Electronic Journals A-Z list does not produce positive results, order the article through InterLibrary Loan.

 

SPECIFIC JOURNALS

Check out the library's e-journals list to search for articles in specific journals. For example:

Journal of Economic Perspectives

Journal of Economic Literature

American Economic Review

SUGGESTED DATABASES & ONLINE RESOURCES

EconLit (1969-present) Primary index to the field of economics.

Web of Science 
Covers over 10,000 journals in the social sciences, sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as conference proceedings. Great for citation trackingTo do a Cited Reference Search, go to the Web of Science tab.

ABI/INFORM Complete Contains over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, country-and industry-focused reports and data. Provides coverage of companies and business trends around the world.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) A multidisciplinary database of several thousand scholarly journals and books published by Elsevier. Includes economics journals. ScienceDirect articles can be obtained via the Holy Cross Fast Delivery Service, which ensures fast document delivery to your inbox.

LexisNexis Search for company information on the main page. For more in-depth research, go to the Companies section on the left menu to find information such as SEC filings and company profiles.
Great source for newspaper articles, case law, law journals, and more. Click here for more information on conducting legal research.

Research Insight/Compustat From Standard & Poor's. Provides price history of active and inactive U.S., Canadian, and American Depository Receipt companies, going back up to 10 years of daily and 20 years of monthly data. It also provides Industry-Specific data on five major sectors of the economy: Homebuilding, Retail, Airlines, Oil & Gas, and Healthcare. Other topics include GICS Aggregate data, Hedge Fund/Derivatives, Pension and Postretirement, Options, Asset Allocations, Sarbanes-Oxley compliance items and more. Instructions for accessing Research Insight/Compustat

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) A “collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 53 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics.” Includes working papers, journal articles and software components.

Social Science Research Network The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. SSRN contains abstracts on over 267,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, as well as over 219,300 downloadable full text documents.

ProQuest Central Great multidisciplinary database. If you'd like to do a more refined search, this database also allows you to search just social science journals.

World Development Report Online Every page of every World Development Report published by the World Bank since the first report was released in 1978.

Academic Search Premier A multidisciplinary database that offers indexing and abstracts for 7,100 journals and includes "full text for more than 4,500 scholarly publications." Fields of research include: the "social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more."

CQ Researcher Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.

CQ Weekly Reports on federal legislative news and analysis. Covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable elsewhere.

Expanded Academic ASAP An interdisciplinary index to journals and national news magazines. 

JSTOR Provides full-text access to scholarly journal articles.  To limit your search to economics journals, use the "Advanced Search" and select "Economics" from the list of disciplines. Keep in mind that JSTOR does not have the most recent 2-5 years of journals.

Project Muse Provides full-text access to many journals, including those in social science. 

Newspaper Articles
ProQuest Newspapers

LexisNexis

For Background Information
Oxford Reference Books: Economics & Business Online collection of reference books

      
     

    JOURNAL RANKINGS

    IDEAS/RePEc Simple Impact Factors for Journals 

    More rankings from REPEC

    Journal Citation Reports For Economics journals, select Social Sciences and "Subject Category". On the next page, you'll be able to select Economics from a list of subject areas. From Web of Science.

     

    DISTINGUISHING BETWEEN SCHOLARLY AND NON-SCHOLARLY SOURCES

    How do scholarly journals differ from popular (non-scholarly) publications? Check out this chart for the basic differences.

     

    GOOGLE SCHOLAR

    Google Scholar is a great tool for doing a broad search of scholarly literature on your topic:

    • Google Scholar searches across many disciplines. 
    • Your search results will include a broad range of sources, including journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, & abstracts. 
    • Results come from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities & other web sites. 

    You'll just want to keep some things in mind:

    • Coverage is not comprehensive. Many sourcess are hidden in publishers' databases and journals that Google can't search, so you'll want to look at other databases as well. 
    • Search results can include links to things like high school term papers, so you'll want to evaluate what you find. 

    You can access advanced search features by clicking the arrow in the right of the search box. These features allow you to refine your search.

    Look for the words Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross next to an article. You should be able to access any of these articles through the library's subscriptions. If you come across a source that Holy Cross does not have access to, remember that you can request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

    When you are on campus, Google Scholar will automatically show you those Get Full Txt @ Holy Cross links next to articles that Holy Cross has access to. If you are off-campus, you can set your Scholar Settings to show the links for accessing sources through Holy Cross. You can modify your settings by selecting the Settings link in the upper-right corner of Google Scholar webpage.

    Click on the Cited by and Related articles links at the bottom of a search result to find relevant articles & books.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip