Skip to Main Content
     

Passport 2023

This guide includes tips and tricks for using library resources to find and evaluate sources for your research.

Welcome

Welcome to the Holy Cross Libraries!

Welcome to the Holy Cross Libraries! This guide includes information about the libraries along with suggested research strategies, tools, and skills to help you find and use information through the library. If you have any questions about the resources in this guide, or the library in general, feel free to use the "Library Research Help" tab to contact a librarian. 

Other Helpful Guides

Library Lingo

When talking about library research, we may use different words to describe different types of sources and information. Here is a brief list of common terms we will use in this guide and when talking about library resources.


article: a written work published in print or electronic form. Articles can be found in a variety of publications like journals, magazines, and newspapers. The "Types of Sources" section of this guide will go into detail about different types of articles and publications. 

database: a collection of related data and information arranged for easy searching and use. Library Databases include searchable collections of academic and popular publications. The "Finding Sources" section of this guide includes information about using databases.

journal: a scholarly publication that publishes articles and research written by scholars, professors, researchers, and other experts. You may also hear journals referred to as "scholarly journals" or "academic journals." Journals have a specific subject focus and publish research related to that subject. They can be published in print and/or electronically.

magazine: a published collection of articles, essays, stories, and other texts that is published at regular intervals. Magazines can vary widely in the topics they cover, from more general publications that include a number of different topics in one issue (such as Time or The New Yorker) to specific topics and themes (such as National Geographic or Sports Illustrated).

monograph: a resource made up of one part or a finite number of parts, such as a book or a set of books. Different from serials, which are published continuously.

newspaper: a weekly or daily publication that includes journalism, news, current events, opinions, and advertising. Many newspapers now publish both electronically and in print, and some may only publish electronically.

periodical: a magazine, journal, or other publication that is published at regular intervals (annually, quarterly, monthly, or weekly).

serial: a resource issued in a succession of parts that continues indefinitely, such as newspapers, magazines, or journals.

stacks: the bookshelves in the library.

What should you know about HC Libraries? [scroll to find out!]

Use the arrows to move through the gallery and learn more.

There are 3 Libraries on campus: Dinand Library, the Music Library, and the Science Library. Holy Cross community members also have access to the Worcester Art Museum Library, located on Salisbury Street in Worcester.


 

3 Campus Libraries + Worcester Art Museum

Printing and scanning is FREE in all of the campus libraries.


 

Print and scan for FREE

Through the Libraries, you have access to hundreds of print books and journals, online articles, research databases, media, datasets, and more! Still not enough? Interlibrary Loan allows you to borrow articles, books, and other materials from libraries worldwide at no cost to you! 


 

Hundreds of print & online resources - plus, borrow from libraries worldwide

Explore the history of Holy Cross, Worcester, and more in the Archives & Distinctive Collections, located on the third floor of Dinand Library.


 

Explore College history in the College Archives & Distinctive Collections

Every major department on campus has a designated librarian. We hope that you'll have the opportunity to meet many of us over the next 4 years. Ask us questions about finding a resource, starting research, using databases, writing citations, and more! 

Visit our Ask a Librarian page to schedule a Personal Research Session, ask a question via email, or see our drop-in hours for research help. You can also use our chat box 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.


 

Dedicated librarians for each major department

Our librarians have created hundreds of guides like this one to help you use the library. 

For even more help, be sure to check out our FAQ


 

Online research guides and tutorials to research and the Libraries

Schedule a Personal Research Session (with a librarian) or a consultation with our Peer Research Consultants for a one-on-one meeting tailored to your specific needs. We can help with all stages of the research process, from developing your topic to checking your bibliography! 


 

Personal Research Sessions with librarians and Peer Research Consultants