Suggested Books in HC Libraries Collections
Sister Outsider
Summary: Essays published since 2008 in the cultural supplement En Rojo, from Claridad newspaper, in which the author interprets historical data on Puerto Rican popular music and personalities.
2020 Virtual Campus Events
Discover More
Search these resources for more relevant materials in the HC Libraries collections.
- Holy Cross Archives: LGBTQIA+ Archives Research GuideThis research guide was created to assist researchers in locating LGBTQIA+-related items in the Holy Cross Archives. It includes items found in the College Archives which pertain to student activism, events, and other aspects of the LGBTQIA+ community at Holy Cross. Although this guide is a result of thorough research developed over many years, it should not be taken as
a fully comprehensive list. This guide will be edited as more material is found.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, magazines, books and newspapers relating to the LGBTQIA+ community, including historical sources.
- Digital Transgender Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1700s-present, but mainly pre-2000
Primary sources pertaining to transgender history, and information on other transgender archives around the world. **For the purposes of the DTA, 'transgender' refers to “a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices” rather than an identity category. - Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from British Archives relating to the study and experience of gender.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1991-present
Citations from alternative, left-leaning, and radical journals and magazines.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, and citations for books, conference proceedings, and other resources, in the field of sociology.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the United States and Canada, 1450-present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present.
Fall 2020: Access Books
If you would like to check out a print book during the Fall 2020 semester, you have several options to do so. Visit the "Fall 2020 Remote Library Services" guide to learn about the drive-up to pick-up and postal mail options for books.
Book Titles A-M
The Boundaries of Blackness: AIDS and the Breakdown of Black Politics by Call Number: Science Library RA644.A25 C575 1999ISBN: 0226112896Publication Date: 1999-04-30
Britannia's Glory: A History of Twentieth Century Lesbians by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781474292801Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Chicago Whispers: A History of LGBT Chicago Before Stonewall by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780299286934Publication Date: 2012-07-01
David Bowie Made Me Gay: 100 Years of LGBT Music by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781468315592Publication Date: 2017-11-21
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaCall Number: Dinand REF HQ76.3.U5 +E53 2004 v.1-3ISBN: 9780684312613Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Fifty Years of Queer Cinema by Call Number: Dinand REF PN1995.9.H55 P668 2010ISBN: 9781936003099Publication Date: 2010-05-16
Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780415929264Publication Date: 2002-03-15
Gay Life and Culture by Call Number: Dinand HQ76 .G329 2006ISBN: 9780789315113Publication Date: 2006-10-31
The Gay Revolution by Call Number: Music Reserve HQ76.8.U5 F33 2015ISBN: 9781451694116Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780810872264Publication Date: 2013-09-19
A Little Gay History by Call Number: Dinand HQ76.25 .P376 2013ISBN: 9780231166638Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Long Before Stonewall by Call Number: Dinand HQ76.3.U5 L66 2007ISBN: 9780814727508Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Book Titles N-Z
Out of the Closet, into the Archives by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781438459035Publication Date: 2015-12-01
A Queer History of the United States by Call Number: Dinand HQ76.3.U5 B696 2011ISBN: 9780807044391Publication Date: 2011-05-10
Queering Public Address by Call Number: Dinand HQ75.16.U6 Q445 2007ISBN: 9781570036644Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Sister Outsider by Call Number: Dinand PS3562.O65 S5 1984ISBN: 0895941414Publication Date: 1984-06-01
Strangers: Homosexual Love in the Nineteenth Century by Call Number: Dinand HQ76.3.E8 R63 2004ISBN: 039302038XPublication Date: 2004-01-01
Stand by Me: The Forgotten History of Gay Liberation by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780465098552Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Zami: a New Spelling of My Name by Call Number: Dinand PS3562.O65 Z23 1982bISBN: 0895941228Publication Date: 1982-01-01