A Guide To...Chemistry: Data and Internet Resources

"PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more."

"[...] a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies. "

"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources."

"This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program."

“Developed and maintained at the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne, BRENDA is a database of enzyme functional data for approximately 3,500 enzymes.”

Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource -ACToR (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource) is a collection of databases collated or developed by the US EPA National Center for Computational Toxicology (NCCT). More than 200 sources of publicly available data on environmental chemicals have been brought together and made searchable by chemical name and other identifiers, and by chemical structure. Data includes chemical structure, physico-chemical values, in vitro assay data and in vivo toxicology data. Chemicals include, but are not limited to, high and medium production volume industrial chemicals, pesticides (active and inert ingredients), and potential ground and drinking water contaminants.

an international scientific/medical society of clinical laboratory professionals, physicians, and research scientists with a vision to provide leadership in advancing the practice and profession of clinical laboratory science and its application to health care.

The official web site of the American Chemical Society and provides information for professionals, educators, and student.

the largest organisation in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences.

find and apply for federal grants.

Includes information about all US patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) from the first patent issued in 1790 to the most recent issue week.

"Established to provide chemistry students with a library of spectroscopy problems" that will produce a better understanding of spectroscopy. Produced by Professor Craig A. Merlic and supported by Cambridge Isotope Laboratories and the UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.