Recommended databases
The databases listed here are great starting points for finding secondary sources for your research. The databases include many scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles. Some databases will also provide citations for book chapters from scholarly books; you can then check the library catalog to see if HC has the book. If we don't have a book that you need, you can request the book or book chapter through Interlibrary loan.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books and dissertations focusing on literature and literary criticism, language, and publishing.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, book reviews, and literary works about Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinx in the United States.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
A compilation of commentary essays on literary works, including drama, poetry, and short stories, from the 15th through 20th centuries
- Dialnet PortalDiscover citations for articles and books, as well as and some full-text access to Spanish language journals and theses in a variety of disciplines.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Not all materials in the research databases are scholarly. In some databases, you can narrow your results to include only those articles published in scholarly journals. This will eliminate most (but not all!) non-scholarly documents from your search results. Remember that some articles published in scholarly journals, such as book reviews or editorials, are not scholarly themselves.
Databases that can limit to scholarly journal articles include CrossSearch, EBSCO databases (Academic Search Premier, MLA Bibliography, etc.) and all ProQuest databases (and some others):
Tracing a Journal Citation
If you already have the citation information for an article, don't use the databases -- you can track it down directly through the Holy Cross BrowZine portal, which houses all of our EJournals!
All the information that you will need is in this citation. You can find some tips for using the eJournals portal here. Can't find the journal in eJournals? Check CrossSearch to see if we have a paper copy in the library:
EJournals
In addition to searching the research databases listed here, you may also want to try searching in specific subject specific journals. Search Holy Cross' EJournal list here.
Examples of journals:
- ChasquiEjournal access for Chasqui goes back to 2000. For articles published before 2000, the journal is in print in Dinand, call number PQ6001 +C48.
- HispanófilaOnline access covers 2003-Present. Volumes published between 1983 and 2014 are available in print, call number PQ6001 .H68
- Romance NotesEjournal access for Romance Notes goes back to 2004. For articles published before 2004, the journal is in print in Dinand, call number PN801 .R75.
Print Journals
While many journal articles are available online, keep in mind that some journal are only available in print. You'll find relevant print journals in the call number range PQ6001 - PQ8929.
The journals listed below are available only in print. The MLA International Bibliography database indexes these journals so article citations from these journals will be included in your MLA search results. You can then use the citation information to locate the article in Dinand.
- Revista Canadiense de Estudios HispánicosCall number PQ6001 .R44
- Revista de Estudios HispánicosCall number PQ6001 .R443
- Revista de crítica literaria latinoamericanaCall number PQ7081.A1 R33
Journal volumes cannot be checked out from Dinand, but you'll be able to scan the pages of any article that you'd like to read for your research. There are two book scanners on the first floor fo Dinand.