Access the Worcester Art Museum Library website!
Access the Worcester Art Museum collection search!
Handouts
- Action planUse this worksheet to create an action plan for gathering information to answer your three priority questions.
- QFT exerciseIf you found the QFT (Question Formulation Technique) helpful, use this blank worksheet for future projects.
- Resource ExplorerIf you found the Art Resource Explorer exercise helpful, use this blank worksheet for future projects.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Now part of JSTOR. Library of images relating to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Digitized material from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions; includes content such as: photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, and government documents.
- EuropeanaThe European equivalent to the DPLA. Digitized materials from archives, libraries, and museums across Europe; includes content such as: books, artwork, and music.
...ALSO Navigate to the website of any major museum and locate their collections search!
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of important reference works in the visual arts, including The Concise Dictionary of Oxford Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Continually-updated dictionary of the history, archaeology and culture of the classical world.
- Encyclopedia of World Art - WAM Library Reference N31 .E5 1959
- Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art - WAM Library Reference N7560 .H34 1979
- A Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names - WAM Library Reference DE25 .G72 1997
- The Penguin Dictionary of Symbols - WAM Library Reference GR931 .C4413 1996
- The Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes, and Associations - WAM Library Reference BL715 .B44 1982
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryPairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s collection.
- SmarthistoryA free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book, designed as a dynamic enhancement for the traditional art history textbook. Includes videos, images, text, timelines, and other web 2.0 possibilities for the open collaboration in study of art history.
Librarian recommendation!
Getty's Guide to Imagery Series - Many can be found in the WAM Library Reference Collection