CLAS 100: Opening Classics (Knott/Seider): Crediting Sources

There are two versions of Chicago Style citation. For this class, you will use Author-Date Style.

Author-Date differs from the other kind of Chicago Style in two main ways: 

1. As the name indicates, Author-Date citations always begin with the author followed immediately by the date. This is different from Notes-Bibliography Chicago Style where the date usually comes towards the end of the citation. 
    
2. If you need to reference something in the body of your writing, Author-Date uses parenthetical citations. These are similar to what you use in MLA style, but Author-Date citations include three pieces: the author(s)' last name(s), the date of publication, and the page number(s). Notes-Bibliography Chicago, in contrast, uses footnotes to share this information. 

Note that online citation tools will almost always give you the Notes-Bibliography version of Chicago rather than the Author-Date style. So, check carefully! 

---

Book with a single author or editor 

In your writing:
(Seider 2013, 10)

In your bibliography:
Seider, Aaron M. 2013. Memory in Vergil's Aeneid: Creating the Past. Cambridge University Press. 

Online journal article (w/ month or season given)

In your writing:
(Chin 2017, 480)

In your bibliography:
Chin, Catherine. 2017. "Marvelous Things Heard: On Finding Historical Radiance." The Massachusetts Review 58, no. 3 (Fall): 478-491. https://www.jstor.org/stable/44808283. 

Online journal article (w/ no month or season given)

In your writing: 
(Candelora 2017, 46)

In your bibliography: 
Candelora, Daniella. 2018. "Entangled in Orientalism: How the Hyksos Became a Race." Journal of Egyptian History 11(1-2): 45-72.  Historical Abstracts. 

Image inside a book

In your writing:
(Clauss and Mackay 2014)

In your bibliography:
Clauss, J. Anthony and Pierre A. Mackay. 2014. Southern and Western Campus Martius. In Rome and Environs: An Archaeological Guide by Filippo Coarelli, 385. Berkeley: University of California Press. 

Image inside an article

In your writing:
(Ammeran 2018)

In your bibliography:
Ammeran, Albert J. 2018. Map of the Forum Boarium and nearby areas. In "The East Bank of the Tiber Below the Island: Two Recent Advances in the Study of Early Rome," by Albert J. Ammerman, Antiquity 92(362):401. https://doi.org/10.15184/aqy.2017.211

Text in the Loeb Classical Library

In your writing:
(Livy 1919, 323)

In your bibliography:
Livy. 1919. History of Rome, Volume I: Books 1-2. Translated by B. O. Foster. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.

Page from a website

In your writing:
(Knott 2016) 

In your bibliography:
Knott, Elizabeth. 2016. "The Middle Babylonian/Kassite Period (ca.1595-1155 B.C.) in Mesopotamia." Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art. Accessed August 28, 2024. https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/kass/hd_kass.htm.