Skip to Main Content
     

CLAS 199: Opening Classics (Ebbott): Crediting Sources

Spring 2024

Cite Sources

 


 

 Try writing your citations (or even just drafts) as soon as you find your sources. 

 Incorporate citations as you write -- be meticulous about documenting what came from where. 

 It's OK if you don't know every nuance of your citation style -- even librarians don't! The important thing is knowing how to look up or ask for help when you're not sure how to cite something. 


Don't forget that you can always ask a librarian for help with citations. And, ask a librarian, your professor, or the Writer's Workshop if you are unsure what needs to be cited. Academic integrity is serious business! 

Chicago Citation Help (Author-Date Style)

There are two versions of Chicago Style citation. For this class, you will use Author-Date Style.

Author-Date differs from the other kind of Chicago Style in two main ways: 

  1. As the name indicates, Author-Date citations always begin with the author followed immediately by the date. This is different from Notes-Bibliography Chicago Style where the date usually comes towards the end of the citation. 
     
  2. If you need to reference something in the body of your writing, Author-Date uses parenthetical citations. These are similar to what you use in MLA style, but Author-Date citations include three pieces: the author(s)' last name(s), the date of publication, and the page number(s). Notes-Bibliography Chicago, in contrast, uses footnotes to share this information. 

Note that online citation tools will almost always give you the Notes-Bibliography version of Chicago rather than the Author-Date style. So, check carefully! 


Book with a single author or editor 

In your writing:
(Abukadirov 2016, 10)

In your bibliography:
Abdukadirov, Sherzod, ed. 2016. Nudge Theory in Action: Behavioral Design in Policy and Markets. Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan.  

Online journal article (w/ month or season given)

In your writing:
(Farooki 2012, 67)

In your bibliography:
Farooki, Masuma Zareen. 2012. “China’s Metals Demand and Commodity Prices: A Case of Disruptive Development?” European Journal of Development Research 24, no. 1 (February): 56–70. doi:10.1057/ejdr.2011.31.

Online journal article (w/ no month or season given)

In your writing:
(Heffetz and Shayo 2009, 171)

In your bibliography:
Heffetz, Ori, and Moses Shayo. 2009. "How Large Are Non-Budget-Constraint Effects of Prices on Demand?" American Economic Journal: Applied Economics 1(4): 170-99. JSTOR. 

Image inside a book

In your writing:
(Clauss and Mackay 2014)

In your bibliography:
Clauss, J. Anthony and Pierre A. Mackay. 2014. Southern and western Campus Martius. In Rome and Environs: An Archaeological Guide by Filippo Coarelli, 385. Berkeley: University of California Press. 

Image inside an article

In your writing:
(Ammeran 2018)

In your bibliography:
Ammeran, Albert J. 2018. Map of the Forum Boarium and nearby areas. In "The East Bank of the Tiber Below the Island: Two Recent Advances in the Study of Early Rome," by Albert J. Ammerman, Antiquity 92(362):401. https://doi.org/10.15184/aqy.2017.211

Text in the Loeb Classical Library

In your writing:
(Livy 1919, 323)

In your bibliography:
Livy. 1919. History of Rome, Volume I: Books 1-2. Translated by B. O. Foster. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.

Page from a website

In your writing:
(Sabino 2019) 

In your bibliography:
Sabino, Rachel. 2019. "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt." Art Institute Chicago. Last modified October 23, 2019. https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.