Sacred Texts & Translations
Tanakh (Hebrew Bible):
Where to Look:
Translations of the Tanakh will be found in the same section as translations of the Christian Old Testament.
|
Tanakh (Hebrew Scriptures) - BS70 to BS1830 |
Selected Volumes:
The Contemporary Torah: A Gender-Sensitive Adaptation of the JPS TranslationCall Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 2005
Online Texts:
- Internet Sacred Text ArchiveA "freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics," primarily in English translation with some original-language texts available. Texts from most major world religions are included.
- The Complete Tanakh"English translation of the entire Tanakh (Tanach) with Rashi's commentary...edited by translator and scholar, Rabbi A.J. Rosenberg."
- Sefaria: A Living Library of Jewish Texts"Sefaria is a non-profit organization dedicated to building the future of Jewish learning in an open and participatory way. We are assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation."
- Judaism: Holy Scriptures (Jewish Virtual Library)Includes the full text of the complete Tanakh (Hebrew Scriptures) and parts of the Talmud
Midrashim & Other Commentaries on Tanakh:
Where to Look:
The Libraries have modern commentaries on the Tanakh as well as midrashim (ancient commentaries) and other Talmudic writings.
|
Modern commentaries on Tanakh (Hebrew Scriptures) are located according to the books to which they refer. For example, the call number for Judges is BS1301-1305.5, so commentaries on Judges will be in the same location. This order generally follows the order of the books of the Christian Bible. Talmudic texts are located in BM497-509. Rabbinic commentaries (Midrashim) are located in BM510-518. |
You can find a list of major classical and modern commentators, humashim (synagogue commentaries) and other commentaries and translations in: Hupping, Carol, Julia Oestreich and Janet Liss, eds. Jewish Bible: A JPS Guide. Jewish Publication Society: 2008. pp. 125-140.
Selected Series & Volumes:
The JPS Torah Commentary SeriesCall Number: [varies]
The JPS Bible Commentary SeriesCall Number: [varies]
Soncino Press seriesCall Number: [varies]- The Classic Midrash: Tannaitic Commentaries on the BibleCall Number: BM512 .C56 1995Publication Date: 1995
Texts Online:
- Sefaria: A Living Library of Jewish Texts"Sefaria is a non-profit organization dedicated to building the future of Jewish learning in an open and participatory way. We are assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation."
- Internet Sacred Text ArchiveA "freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics," primarily in English translation with some original-language texts available. Texts from most major world religions are included.
Mishnah, Talmud & Other Rabbinic Literature:
Where to Look:
|
Selected Series & Volumes:
The Talmud of the Land of Israel: A Preliminary Translation & ExplanationCall Number: BM498.5 .E5 1982 v1-35- The Babylonian Talmud: A Translation & Commentary [22 vols]Call Number: Rehm BM504 .N44 2011 v.1-22Publication Date: 2011Available in Rehm Library for in-library use only.
The Mishnah: A New TranslationCall Number: BM497.5.E5 N478 1988
Texts Online:
- Sefaria: A Living Library of Jewish Texts"Sefaria is a non-profit organization dedicated to building the future of Jewish learning in an open and participatory way. We are assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation."
- Internet Sacred Text ArchiveA "freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics," primarily in English translation with some original-language texts available. Texts from most major world religions are included.
- Judaism: Holy Scriptures (Jewish Virtual Library)Includes the full text of the complete Tanakh (Hebrew Scriptures) and parts of the Talmud
Commentaries on Rabbinic Literature:
- Components of the Rabbinic Documents Series by Call Number: [varies]
- A Commentary on the Palestinian Talmud: A Study of the Development of the Halakah and Haggadah in Palestine and BabyloniaCall Number: BM498.8 +G55 1971 v.1-3Publication Date: 1971
The Talmud of Babylonia: An Academic CommentaryCall Number: BM504 .N44 1994 v.1-36Publication Date: 1994
Understanding Rabbinic Midrash: Texts & CommentaryCall Number: BM514 .U53 1985Publication Date: 1985
Secondary Resources
- JewishEncyclopedia.comProvides full-text access to the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia "originally published between 1901-1906." Contains "over 15,000 articles and illustrations" on Jewish culture, religion and history prior to 1900.
- Jewish Virtual Library"The Jewish Virtual Library (JVL) is the most comprehensive online encyclopedia of Jewish history, politics and culture. With nearly 25,000 entries, the JVL is a one-stop shop for students of all ages interested in anything from anti-Semitism to Zionism. The Library has a vast global audience, reaching more than 30 million visitors -- nearly 900,000 per month -- from more than 200 countries and territories."
- Sefaria: A Living Library of Jewish Texts"Sefaria is a non-profit organization dedicated to building the future of Jewish learning in an open and participatory way. We are assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation."
A Grammar for Biblical Hebrew by Call Number: PJ4567 .S424 1995
