*In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Reading Room will be closed to the public until further notice*
Librarian
Procedures for Borrowing Books
*Staff must have prior approval to return to WAM and must follow return to WAM protocols*
Procedure for borrowing items: Email requested item list to Rebecca. Rebecca will check out the items, label with the borrower’s name and deliver them to the appropriate mailbox. The borrower will be notified when requested items are ready for pick-up.
Procedure for returning items: The borrower will return library materials by placing them in the library mailbox (outside of the mail room or in the curatorial area).
Interlibrary Loan: Email requested item list to Rebecca. Rebecca will place requests, label with the borrower’s name and deliver them to the appropriate mailbox. The borrower will be notified when requested items are ready for pick-up. To return ILL items, place them in the library mailbox (outside of the mail room, or in the curatorial area).
Higgins Collection: Items from the Higgins collection may be borrowed by museum staff for use in their offices only. Please email requests to Rebecca. Appointments may be made if it is necessary to browse the collection.
Procedure for borrowing items: Email requested item list to Rebecca. Rebecca will check out the items, label with the borrower’s name and place items in the “library drop box” outside of the control room. The borrower will be notified when requested items are ready for pick-up. The borrower will need to make an appointment to pick up the items.
Procedure for returning items: The borrower will return library materials by placing them in the “library drop box” outside of the control room. The borrower will need to make an appointment to drop off items.
Interlibrary Loan: Email requested item list to Rebecca. Rebecca will place requests, label with the borrower’s name and place items in the “library drop box” outside of the control room. The borrower will need to make an appointment to pick up items. To return ILL items, the borrower will need to make an appointment and then place the items in the “library drop box” outside of the control room.
Holy Cross students, faculty, and staff must request WAM items through the Holy Cross ILL system. Items will be delivered to Dinand Library. You may choose to pick-up the items through the Drive-up to pick-up service or in-person pick-up. You may also request WAM items be shipped to your home. Learn more about these options by visiting this guide.
You may return items to Dinand library and Library staff will send items back to WAM.
Electronic Resources
Once you have logged in to the Museum’s GoToMyPC client you can access all electronic resources from the Library’s Public Folder on the server. If you are working on-site, you can also access all of the links live on the library's website under the "digital resources" page.
Access Massachusetts Library System Databases here.
Resources include: Boston Globe, Britannica, Proquest Research Companion & Heritage Quest, Gale products: Biography, Fine Arts, Academic OneFile & Select, General OneFile, Gender Studies, News, Religion & Philosophy, New York Times, World History, and much more.
WAM does not have the capability to offer off-site use of electronic resources. Check your local public library for assistance with access to art related databases, or check out the Boston Public Library’s e-card program:
Boston Public Library Art & Architecture Databases
You will need a BPL e-card to access these databases. Register for a card
Resources include: Grove Art Online, JSTOR, New York Times (1851-2016) and (1985-Present), Art History Research net, Smithsonian Collections Online, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and much more.
--------
You can also access Massachusetts Library System Databases here.
Resources include: Boston Globe, Britannica, Proquest Research Companion & Heritage Quest, Gale products: Biography, Fine Arts, Academic OneFile & Select, General OneFile, Gender Studies, News, Religion & Philosophy, New York Times, World History, and much more.
Check out this guide for information on Art & Architecture resources available from Holy Cross.
If you have trouble accessing these resources from home, visit this guide for assistance. You can always contact libref@holycross.edu or call 508-793-2642. There is also a chat reference service available 24/7!
Research Services
Personal Research Sessions (PRS): An opportunity for a more in-depth consultation on how to tackle specific research problems, or assistance using specific library resources. Consultations may take place via Zoom, Google Hangouts, or other options. Email library@worcesterart.org to make an appointment.
Reference Support: For general questions relating to the Museum's collections, assistance accessing and using library resources, or any other questions please email library@worcesterart.org.
Research Assistance: As access to the collections is limited, and many people are working from home, Rebecca is available to assist with conducting research on established projects. Established partnerships can be on a long or short term basis depending on researcher needs.