This is the "Environmental Biology" page of the "Environmental Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Comparison of Article TypesGuide to Reliable JournalsGuide to Research Articles
PlagiarismReading a Citation
Tips for Using Internet Sources

Admin Sign In 

Environmental Biology 

Last update: Feb 22nd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.holycross.edu/environbio  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Environmental Biology             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Reference Assistance

Reference Hours In Science Library

Monday -Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

For extended reference assistance, schedule an appointment with Barbara Merolli, Science Librarian. Call 508-793-2643 or email at bmerolli@holycross.edu 

Remote support

24/7 Online Help  (Provided by AJCU)  

E-mail reference

 

Interlibrary Loan

 Interlibrary Loan  

 
 

Library Orientation Overview

1.    Understanding a Citation

2.    Review vs. Research Articles and Peer-Review editorial process


3.    Library Home Page web site

a.   HC Catalog – use the catalog to find books AND specific journals (print or online) by searching for the JOURNAL NAME 

b.   WorldCat - Catalog of worldwide libraries, including Worcester area libraries, that can be searched for books, journals, and media.

c.   Databases - The many databases on the HC library web site can be used to search for journal articles. The 'right' database to use depends upon your research topic, any limiters you wish to impose on your search, and how you want the results presented for analysis. 

d.    Database Interfaces are a collection of multiple databases in one search engine. For example, the Ebsco Host interface allows you to search not only Academic Search Premier, but also PsychINFO, SocIndex, as well as other databases. Another example is ISI Web of Knowledge interface which provides you with access to Web of Science, Biological Abstracts and Medline databases.

4.    Databases

a.    Academic Search Premier

i.  General database that provides access to many science related journals. 

ii.  Date limiter allows you to choose specific date ranges to search, i.e., 1990 -1999.

iii.  Indexing by Subject category helps to narrow your search to articles specifically related to your research subject

iv.  Provides good results on journals available in print in the library as well as full-text online articles.

v.  Check HC Catalog for print journal by selecting the TITLE category and searching for the JOURNAL NAME.The results will show you the records for that journal which will indicate if the journal is available in print, electronically, or both, and for what periods of time.

vi.  Browse within a specific publication by selecting the limiter "Search within this publication"

b.    ISI Web of Knowledge

i.   Times Cited

ii.    References Cited

iii.    Document Types (Review vs. Research Article)

iv.    Web bridge – check other databases for full text

Through ISI Web of Knowledge interface. Review articles can be accessed via the PUBLICATION TYPE drop down menu on the left side of the results page after performing a search.

5.  Results Analysis

Too many hits in the results list indicate a need to define the keyword search more narrowly by adding more terms. Too few hits indicates a need to expand the keyword search by removing or replacing some of the words used in the search.

  • To obtain full text of an article, look for a link in the results' citation for PDF or HTML format, or leading you to another database or the publisher's web site. If there are no links for full text or if the links lead you to a page that prompts you to pay for the article, follow the steps below.
  • CHECK HOLY CROSS HOLDINGS AND ACCESS: Click on the article title to open the record. Click on the journal name and click on the 'Journal' link to open the Journal record. Copy the full version of the journal name. Open another browser window and go to the Holy Cross library catalog (Library Home page, 'Find Books'). Click on the down arrow in the search term box and select 'Title.' Paste the journal name into the search box and click on the Submit button. 

             If the library has the journal in any format, you will see the journal name in the results of your search. Click on the journal name to open the record to find out if we have print or electronic format. 

             If the library has that journal in print, the record will say "Shelved Alphabetically By Title In Journals Section." Note the dates for which we have it in print in the Holdings section of the record.

             If the library has access to that journal electronically, the record will indicate with the notation 'online or electronic resource' in parentheses after the journal's. Click on the 'journal name (online)' link. The record will open to provide links to the database(s) through which that journal can be accessed electronically. Note which the date(s) for which electronic access is available.

  • CHECK JOURNAL/PUBLISHER WEB SITE FOR OPEN ACCESS:  Go the publisher's web site via a search engine such as Google, to see if the publisher is providing open access to the journal and/or article.
  • CHECK BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY: If you don't have a BPL eCard, go to the Boston Public Library tab in this Libguide, and follow the instructions to obtain an eCard and to check their resources for access to the journal article you need.
  • INTERLIBRARY LOAN: Submit a request to Holy Cross library interlibrary loan office. Your request will be processed promptly, but it may take up to 2 weeks to receive your article if your article is not available through "Fast Delivery". If the article is available through "Fast Delivery", the interval to obtain it will be much shorter, usually one or two days.

 

 

Librarian

Profile ImageBarbara Merolli
Contact Info:
The College of the Holy Cross
1 College Street
Worcester, MA 01610
508-793-2643
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait