About this Guide
The Holy Cross Libraries offer several specific e-book collections:
Each publisher/e-book collection has different functionality and rules for annotating, reading, downloading and printing. Choose a collection from the tabs below for more details.
Library E-Book Collections & Functionality
ACLS HUMANITIES:
- ACLS Humanities Ebook This link opens in a new window
Academic ebooks about the humanities (arts, literature, history, religion, etc.)
Accounts:
There are no personal account options for ACLS Humanities E-Books.
Viewing:
Click the Read Book button, the Read button next to an individual chapter, or the title of any individual chapter to open the online e-book reader.
Downloading:
You can download one book chapter at a time in PDF format. Go to the chapter/section headings listed under the “Table of Contents” tab. The “Read” button will take you into the e-reader; clicking on the “Download” button generates a PDF of the chapter.
Printing:
You are permitted to print one chapter at a time. To print, follow the steps to "Download" a chapter to generate a PDF, which you can then print.
E-BOOK CENTRAL:
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Academic and other ebooks in almost every subject area. Help Using Ebooks
Accounts:
You can create a personal Ebook Central account which allows you to annotate and highlight text. You can also save titles to your Bookshelf. More information
Viewing:
Click the Read Online button for any book in order to read online. More information
Downloading:
Options for downloading e-books to a computer for offline access:
-
You can download a PDF of a page range or specific chapter by clicking on the printer icon toward the top of the page. More information about searching, finding, and using Ebook Central books.
-
You can download an Ebook for temporary access using Adobe Digital Editions, a free software program. (Not accessible on the Kindle). More information and Video of download process
-
The Bluefire Reader app allows you to download ebooks in ePub or PDF format that are protected with Adobe DRM directly to an Apple device such as the iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad. You can also transfer ebooks to the Bluefire Reader app from Adobe Digital Editions. Bluefire Reader app for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad
-
Accessible on most devices and computers, including the iPhone, iPad, iPad Mini, Android phone, and Android tablet. More information
Printing:
To print without downloading a PDF, go to InfoTools and select Print.
EBSCO:
- EBSCO Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Academic and other ebooks in almost every subject area. Help Using Ebooks
Accounts:
Create a My EBSCOhost Account to save notes, store e-books in your personal folders, and more. This account is the same across all EBSCO databases including CrossSearch. More information
Viewing:
Click the PDF Full Text link for any book in order to read online. More information
Downloading:
- You can download an Ebook to your computer for offline reading. You will need to have Adobe Digital Editions, a software program that can be freely downloaded. To download an Ebook, click the Download (Offline) link for the book you'd like. Then click the Checkout & Download button.
- If your Apple device does not have a wireless connection available, eBooks can be downloaded from EBSCOhost and read using the Bluefire reading app available for free from iTunes. Use the following steps if your device does not have a wireless connection and you will be using your computer to transfer the eBook. If your device does have a wireless connection avaiable, it is recommended you use the new EBSCO eBooks available from the iTunes App store. More here.
Install the Bluefire Reader Version 1.2 onto your device. Bluefire is available for free from iTunes at the following link:Bluefire Reader via iTunes
- You can download up to 60 pages of an Ebook (The number of pages varies depending on publisher restrictions). Once you've clicked on the eBook Full Text link to open a book, you can go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Print icon on the right side. Then you will see the Print menu where you can select to print the page you are currently viewing, the current Page and the next XX pages, or the Section you are viewing.
- You can also download EBSCO Ebooks to many different types of portable devices: More information about downloading
Printing:
You can download up to 60 pages of an e-book for printing. The precise number of pages varies depending on publisher restrictions). Once you've clicked on the PDF Full Text link to open a book, you can go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Print icon on the right side. Then you will see the Print menu where you can select to print the page you are currently viewing, the current Page and the next XX pages, or the Section you are viewing.
GALE:
Accounts:
There are no personal accounts for Gale E-Books. However, you can use the Highlights and Notes feature to annotate an e-book while you are working with it. Be sure to send, download, or print your Highlights and Notes before closing out of the e-book or your internet browser. More information about annotations
Viewing:
All Gale e-books can be read online by simply clicking on the book. You have the option of reading each book in either text mode (i.e., as HTML text) or in book mode (as a digitized image). Highlights and Notes are only available in text mode. You can toggle between modes using the top navigation bar.
Downloading:
Most Gale e-books allow you to download a page or section/article to PDF by simply clicking the Download option in the top toolbar. Downloads can be initiated from either text or book mode, and you can download from text mode to preserve any annotations you have made. You can also download to Google Drive.
Printing:
There is no limit to the number of pages that can be printed from Gale e-books. Please consider copyright laws and the environment before printing large sections of an e-book.
SPRINGER:
- Springer Nature Link Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Academic ebooks published by Springer Nature on topics across the natural and social sciences.
Accounts:
There are no personal account options for Springer e-books.
Viewing:
Springer e-books can be read online in the SpringerLink reader. Click Enter Fullscreen to view the book in the fullscreen mode. Use the + and - buttons to zoom in and out. PDFs of each chapter are also available.
Downloading:
Most Springer eBooks allow for full download in PDF as well as EPUB formats (for Adobe Digital Editions).
Printing:
There is no limit to the number of pages that can be printed from Springer e-books. Please consider copyright laws and the environment before printing large sections of an e-book.