Comparison of Article TypesGuide to Reliable JournalsGuide to Research Articles
Academic HonestyCopyrightRefWorks
Tips for Using Internet Sources
This is the "Environmental Biology" page of the "Environmental Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Biology  

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.holycross.edu/environbio Print Guide RSS Updates

Environmental Biology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Assistance

Reference Hours In Science Library

Monday -Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

For extended reference assistance, schedule an appointment with Barbara Merolli, Science Librarian. Call 508-793-2643 or email at bmerolli@holycross.edu 

Remote support

24/7 Online Help  (Provided by AJCU)  

E-mail reference

 

Interlibrary Loan

 Interlibrary Loan  

 

Library Orientation Overview

Resources

Schedule a Personal Research Assistance Session!!!! One on one session with librarian to research your particular topic.  

 

·         Citation Information – recognizing citations for different types of materials

·         Citation Management – RefWorks software and how to use it

·         Databases

 

o    Library Databases web page:  http://libguides.holycross.edu/subjectdatabases

§  General, covering many subjects in a range of detail

§  Subject specific, providing detailed information

 

o    Database features

§  Sort options to sort results

§  Limiters for refining search results

§  Folder for temporarily organizing citations

§  Exporting citations to citation management software

 

·         Library Online Catalog

o    Search JOURNAL TITLE to verify if the library has access to a specific journal

o    Articles

§  BUT be aware you are NOT searching all the databases available to you

§  AND it will lead you to a database, but WITHOUT full functionality of the database

o    Books – less likely to use for this project than journal articles

o    Library Online Catalog: http://discover.holycross.edu/iii/encore/home?lang=eng


·         Interlibrary Loan

o    Conventional –  one + week(s) turnaround

o    Fast Delivery Service (journals published by Elsevier in the Science Direct database and selected journal titles in Nature Publishing Group)


·         Steps for finding full text articles when you only have a citation


·         Primary and Secondary Literature examples


·         Comparison of Article Types


·         Library Instruction Links – Library web pages description and URL


·         Internet

o    Search Engines: Google Scholar (links to HC databases for full text but only on-campus)

o    Organizations:  Environmental Protection Agency, The Polaris Project

2.      

Librarian

Profile Image
Barbara Merolli
Contact Info
The College of the Holy Cross
1 College Street
Worcester, MA 01610
508-793-2643
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Heather Dennis
Contact Info
College of the Holy Cross
1 College Street
Worcester, MA 01610
508-793-2640
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip