This is the "Articles & More" page of the "HIST 399: Gilded Age America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 399: Gilded Age America  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.holycross.edu/hist399 Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & More Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

DATABASE SEARCH TIPS

Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

 

FIND FULL-TEXT ARTICLES

Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article?

Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article...

1. Check the Holy Cross Libraries' Catalog to find the journal in print or in electronic format by searching in the TITLE field for the name of the JOURNAL (not the article name): HC Catalog

2. If the catalog does not produce positive results, check the Electronic Journals A-Z List  by searching for the Journal name (not the article name) in the "Find" box.

3. If the Electronic Journals A-Z list does not produce positive results, order the article through InterLibrary Loan.

 

SUGGESTED DATABASES

America: History and Life (1964-present)
Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide in US and Canadian history. Includes articles, book reviews, dissertations, and chapters of books. The historical period covered is from prehistory to the present.

JSTOR (Full Text: coverage varies)
An archive of scholarly journal articles from a variety of subject areas, including history.

Project Muse (Full Text: coverage varies)
Provides full-text journal articles from a variety of subject areas. To limit your search, select "Native American and Indigenous Studies" from the list of disciplines.

Academic Search Premier (Full Text: coverage varies)
A multidisciplinary database that offers indexing and abstracts for 7,100 journals

Expanded Academic ASAP (Full Text: 1980-Present)
An interdisciplinary index to journals and national news magazines.

Depending on your research topic, you may want to look at some databases from other academic disciplines as well. Consider if researchers in other fields may have written about your topic. For example, if you were writing about unions during the Gilded Age, you may want to try an economics database or a sociology database. For economics, try EconLit. For sociology, try SocINDEX.


To search specific journals, check out the library's e-journals list (For example: The Journal of American History, The Journal of the Gilded Age & Progressive Era, or Labor History) or find out if we have the journal in print by searching for the journal title in the library catalog.

 

STATISTICS

ProQuest Statistical Insight 
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. To find historical information on your topic, narrow your search results to "Date Covered" (instead of "Date Published") using the menu option on the left. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip