Skip to main content
Banner Image

Finding Journal Articles at Holy Cross: Home

When the Database Doesn't Have Full Text Available

In many Holy Cross databases, the full text of articles you would like to read is easily available. Just look for a link that says PDF or Full Text, or find one of these icons: .

Other times, however, a database might contain only the citation for a specific article. So, while the database has provided some useful information (the names of some articles which have been published on your topic), you, the researcher, will have to take the next step to locate a copy of the article.  When this is the case, you will see the icon instead of a PDF or HTML link.  

The Check for Full Text button will try to locate a copy of the article for you. Most of the time, this will work. However, sometimes the button cannot find the article. Continue reading below to see the next steps you should take: 

Finding Full Text

Step 1: Check E-Journals

Visit the Electronic Journals List (also linked on the Libraries homepage, under the chat box). The E-Journals List is like a cheatsheet for the databases. It will tell you which journals we have online access to, for which dates, and in which databases. Very often, an article which is not available in the original database you searched, will be available in one or more other databases we own. 

Even if you have already tried the Check for Full Text button, it is always worth checking the E-Journals portal. A single typo in the database's citation can prevent the button from finding the article. 

To search E-Journals: 

1. Locate the important citation information for the article you want. This will include things like the name of the journal, the volume and issue in which the article was printed, and the year it was published. The article below is cited in MLA Style: 

2. Search for the Journal Title in the search box on the E-Journals list. 

3. Check your search results. 

 If we own the journal: 

a - You will see a list of databases where the journal is available, like this one: 

 

b - Choose the database with dates that match the article you are looking for. In this case, our article is from 1988, so we could choose either Academic Search Premier or e-Duke Journals. If more than one database is available, feel free to choose any of the databases listed. 

c - The link will bring you to a 'homepage' for the journal which will usually include either a list of available issues, or a link to the Archive (which will contain a list of issues).  Using the citation information you found above, browse to the correct year, then find the correct volume and, if necessary, the issue within that volume. 

d - Once you have opened the correct issue, all articles published in that issue will be listed in page number order. Use the citation information you found above to identify your article's page numbers and browse to your article in the list

e - Click the PDF or HTML full text link to view, save, etc. your article. 

If we do not own the journal:

Proceed to STEP 2. 

Step 2: Check the Catalog

It can be easy to forget that most of the journal articles we access at Holy Cross were originally published in a printed journal, in a format similar to a magazine. The format in which we receive a particular journal (online vs. in print copy) varies based on several different factors. It sometimes happens, particularly with older articles, that an article will not be in our online collection, but may be available somewhere in the library building.  The Catalog contains information on everything we have in print in the libraries. 

To look for articles in print

1. Again, note the citation information for the article you want. 

2. Search for the Journal Title in the Catalog search box. 

3. Check your search results. 

 If we own the journal: 

a - You will see a record for that journal, like the one below. 

 

b - Read the entry for this journal. Check to be sure that the date of your article (in this case, 1988) is included in the issues we own. You should also be sure to note the call number and location. Most journals will be located in Dinand Library. Unless otherwise noted, these will be in the library stacks. 

c - Using the call number and location to guide you, visit the library which contains the journal and find the call number. Unless otherwise noted, journals will be shelved in the normal stacks alongside books with the same call number. For help locating call numbers in the stacks, click here. Print journals will usually look like a long row of books with the same style and color of binding. 

d - Once you have found the location of your journal, use the citation information from above to look for the volume with the correct year / number (in this case, you are looking for the volume with 1988 and 49 on the spine).

e - If there is an issue number in your citation, open the volume and look for the correct issue. As a hint, the library usually leaves the front covers of each issue in place when they put the volumes together. This means that you can typically see thicker and/or colored lines where each issue begins and ends. 

f - Once you have found the correct issue (or if no issue number is given), use the citation information you found  above to identify your article's page numbers and turn to your article

g - You can read the article immediately, or, use the scanners to make a copy for yourself. Print journals cannot be taken out of the library. 

If we do not own the journal: 

Proceed to STEP 3. 

Step 3: Interlibrary Loan

InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request books and articles owned by other libraries all over the US -- and in some cases, around the world! Once you've placed a request, another library will send a scan of the article to Holy Cross, and it will be delivered directly to your e-mail. Note that an article requested through ILL usually arrives within 1 week, although it can ocacsionally take longer. Make sure to plan ahead!

Please follow Steps 1 and 2 before placing a request for Interlibrary Loan.  Requests for articles that the libraries already own will be denied -- which will slow down your research process! 

If you are not sure whether we already own an article, please Ask A Librarian -- we can usually find out very quickly! 
 

To request an article through Interlibrary Loan -- 

If you found the article in a database: 

1. Click the button to see available options. You should see the option below:  
 

2. Click on the Request article link. The link will take you to a purple log-in screen labeled CAS. Log in using your Holy Cross network username and password (what you would use to log-in to a lab computer). 

3. If you have never used ILL before, you will be asked to fill out a form to register your account. Make sure to fill in at least the required fields. Note that your Department will be your class year (i.e., Class of 2018) rather than your major. 

4. Once you have registered your account, you will be brought to the ILL form. The database will have filled out most of the information for you. Refer to the citation information you found earlier and make sure that the form is complete. In particular, make sure the form includes the volume, issue, date and page numbers. The more information you include in the form, the faster our librarians will be able to locate a copy for you. 

5. Once you have filled out all of the important information, click Submit Request at the bottom of the screen. You will receive an e-mail when the article is available for download. 
 

If you found the article through other means, or if you forgot how to open the article in the databases: 

1. Go to the ILLiad Interlibary Loan page (also linked from the library website). 

2. Click the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan link at the top of the page. The link will take you to a purple log-in screen labeled CAS. Log in using your Holy Cross network username and password (what you would use to log-in to a lab computer). 

3. If you have never used ILL before, you will be asked to fill out a form to register your account. Make sure to fill in at least the required fields. Note that your Department will be your class year (i.e., Class of 2018) rather than your major. 

4. Once you have registered your account, you will be brought to the ILL form. Using the citation information you found earlier, fill out as much of the form as possible.  In particular, make sure the form includes the volume, issue, date and page numbers. The more information you include in the form, the faster our librarians will be able to locate a copy for you. 

5. Once you have filled out all of the important information, click Submit Request at the bottom of the screen. You will receive an e-mail when the article is available for download. 

Loading