Academic HonestyCopyrightRefWorks
This is the "The Basics" page of the "Writing Science and The Brain" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing Science and The Brain  

ENGL 299
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2012 URL: http://libguides.holycross.edu/WritingScience Print Guide RSS Updates

The Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Assistance

Ask-a-Librarian
   

Reference Hours in Dinand Library are:

Sunday:  6:00  - 10:00 p.m.

Monday -Thursday: 9:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Friday:  9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

You may schedule an appointment with a Reference Librarian if you would like extended reference assistance.

 

FACT COLLOQUIUM

 

Finding Books and Documents

Cross borrowing among ARC institution (Worcester consortium: ARC card necessary, available at Dinand circulation desk.)  


General Reference Resources - Print and Online   
Almanacs  [REF.] AY                                                                                                                  

 Encyclopaedia Britannica
The Encyclopaedia britannica;... 1910-11  AE5 + E56 (Not on Ref. in stacks)
The new encylopaedia Britannica.  [REF.] AE5 E563 2002
Encyclopaedia Britannica:... [REF.] AE5 + 563 1771a  
Guinness world records  [REF.] AG243 G96 2012 (earlier in stacks)                                                                                                               

Famous First Facts : a record of first happenings, discoveries, and inventions in American history. [REF.] AG5 K1 2006
The New York Public Library Desk Reference. A variety of information... [REF.] AG6 N49 2002
Encyclopedia of Associations.  [REF.] AS22 E5 2009 (earlier in stacks)
Encyclopedia of Associations. International Associations, 2010  [REF.] AS22 + E53 (earlier in stacks)                                                                
     

General Reference Resources – located in the reference section at Dinand library (main reading room)

Cavendish, R. (1994). Man, myth, and magic: The illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown. New York: M. Cavendish. [REF] BF1407 .M34 1994

Ferber, M. (1999). A dictionary of literary symbols. Cambridge, UK; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press. [REF] PN56.S9 F47 1999

Gale Research Inc. (1989). Encyclopedia of associations.  [REF] AS22 +E53 2007

The Guinness book of records. (1999) [REF] AG243 .G96 2011.

Havlice, P. P. (1977). World painting index. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press. [REF] ND45 .H38

Kane, J. N., Anzovin, S., & Podell, J. (1997). Famous first facts: A record of first happenings, discoveries, and inventions in American history (5th ed.). New York: H.W. Wilson. [REF] AG5 .K1 1997

Knowles, E. (2004). The Oxford dictionary of quotations (6th ed.). Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. [REF] PN6080.O95 2004;

Leach, M., & Fried, J. (1949; 1950). Funk & Wagnall’s standard dictionary of folklore, mythology and legend. New York: Funk & Wagnall’s Co. [REF] GR35 .F98

Lewis, T. P. (1992). The ProAm book of music and mythology (1st ed.). White Plains, N.Y.: Pro/Am Music Resources.; [REF] ML3849.P76 1992

Lighter, J. E., & Random House. (1994). Random house historical dictionary of American slang (1st ed.). New York: Random House.; [REF] PE2846 .H57 1994

Martin, J. (2005). Miss Manners' guide to excruciatingly correct behavior (Freshly updated.). New York: W.W. Norton & Co.   [REF]  BJ1853.M294 2005

Post, P., & Post, E. (1997). Emily Post's etiquette (16th ed.). New York, NY: HarperCollins Publishers. [REF] BJ1853.P8 1997

Williams, C. A. S. (1960). Encyclopedia of Chinese symbolism and art motives: An alphabetical compendium of legends and beliefs as reflected in the manners and customs of the Chinese throughout history. New York: Julian Press.; [REF] GR335.W53

            

Science Reference Resources – located in Reference section of science library

Allaby, M. (2008). The encyclopedia of Earth: A complete visual guide. Berkeley: University of California Press.; Offers new visual interpretations of many concepts and facts, painting a fascinating picture of Earth today and across the ages. [REF] QB631.E558 2008

Bates, R. L., Jackson, J. A., & American Geological Institute. (1984). Dictionary of geological terms (3, Anchor Books ed.). Garden City, N.Y.: Anchor Press/Doubleday.; [REF] QE5 .D55 1984

Cogger, H. G., Zweifel, R. G., & Kirshner, D. (1998). Encyclopedia of reptiles & amphibians (2nd ed.). San Diego, CA: Academic Press. [REF] QL641.E52 1998

Crane, H. R. (1992). How things work. College Park, MD: American Association of Physics Teachers. [REF]  T48.C7 1992

Dasch, E. J. (1996). Encyclopedia of earth sciences. New York, NY: Macmillan Reference. [REF] QE5 .E5137 1996

Diagram Group. (1983). The human body on file. New York: Facts on File.; [REF] QM25 .H85 1983

Emsley, J. (1991). The elements (2nd ed.). Oxford: Clarendon Press. [REF] QD466 .E48 1991

Emsley, J. (2003; 2001). Nature's building blocks: An A-Z guide to the elements. Oxford, U.K.; New York: Oxford University Press. [REF] QD466.E52 2003

Fry, J. L., Graf, H., Grotjahn, R., Raphael, M., Saunders, C., & Whitaker, R. (2010). The encyclopedia of weather and climate change :A complete visual guide. Berkeley: University of California Press; [REF]  QC854.F79 2010

Gale Research Inc. (1994). How products are made: An illustrated guide to product manufacturing. [REF] TS146 .H67 

Glick, T. F., Livesey, S. J., & Wallis, F. (2005). Medieval science, technology, and medicine: An encyclopedia. New York: Routledge. [REF] Q124.97.M43 2005;

Goldstein, M. (1999). The complete idiot's guide to weather. New York: Alpha Books. [REF] QC863.4.G64 1999

Gray, H., Williams, P. L., & Bannister, L. H. (1995). Gray's anatomy: The anatomical basis of medicine and surgery (38th ed.). New York: Churchill Livingstone. [REF] QM23.G7 1995

Grzimek, B., Hutchins, M., Jackson, J. A., Bock, W. J., Schlager, N., Olendorf, D., et al. (2003). Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia (2nd ed.). Detroit: Gale. [REF] QL7 .G7813 2003

Harrison, P., & Peterson, R. T. (1985). Seabirds: An identification guide (Rev ed.). Boston: Houghton Mifflin. [REF] QL673 .H29 1985

Hazewinkel, M. (1988). Encyclopaedia of mathematics: An updated and annotated translation of the Soviet "mathematical encyclopaedia". Dordrecht; Boston: Reidel.; [REF] QA5 .M3713 1988; Ref.Science

Hoyo, J. d., Elliott, A., Sargatal, J., & Collar, N. J. (1992). Handbook of the birds of the world. Barcelona: Lynx Edicions.; [REF] QL673.H25 1992

Maran, S. P. (1992). The astronomy and astrophysics encyclopedia. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold.; [REF] QB14 .A873 1991

Marshall Cavendish Corporation. (1988). The Marshall Cavendish illustrated encyclopedia of plants and earth sciences. New York: Marshall Cavendish.; [REF] QK7 .M37 1988

Marshall, S. A. (2006). Insects: Their natural history and diversity : With a photographic guide to insects of eastern North America. Richmond Hill, Ont.; [REF] QL473.M34 2006

McGrath, K. A., & Blachford, S. (2001). The Gale encyclopedia of science (2nd ed.). Detroit: Gale Group. [REF] Q121.G35 2001

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology (2007). (10th ed.). New York: McGraw-Hill.  [REF]  Q121.M1 2007

Meyers, R. A. (2002). Encyclopedia of physical science and technology (3rd ed.). San Diego: Academic Press. [REF] Q123 .E4974 2002

Moore, P. (2002). Astronomy encyclopedia (Fully rev a expa ed.). New York: Oxford University Press. [REF]  QB14.A875 2002

Nature Publishing Company. (2002). Encyclopedia of life sciences. London; New York: Nature Pub. Group. [REF] QH302.5 .E525 2002

Ostrom, J. H., & McIntosh, J. S. (1999; 1966). Marsh's dinosaurs: The collections from Como Bluff. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press. [REF] QE862.D5 O817 1999

Parker, S. (1991; 1990). The Random House book of how things work (1 American ed.). New York: Random House. A comprehensive, illustrated guide showing how more than 300 machines, mechanisms, and processes that affect our everyday lives work. [REF] T48 .P37 1991

Paxton, J. R., Eschmeyer, W. N., & Kirshner, D. (1998). Encyclopedia of fishes (2nd ed.). San Diego, CA: Academic Press. [REF] QL614.7 .E535 1998

Resh, V. H., & Cardé, R. T. (2003). Encyclopedia of insects. Amsterdam; Boston: Academic Press. [REF] QL462.3.E52 2003

Ridpath, I. (2004; 2003). A dictionary of astronomy (Rev ed.). Oxford, U.K.; New York: Oxford University Press. [REF] QB14.D52 2004

Schleyer, P. v. R. (1998). Encyclopedia of computational chemistry. Chichester: New York. [REF] QD39.3.E46 E53 1998

Schneider, S. H. (1996). Encyclopedia of climate and weather. New York: Oxford University Press. [REF] QC854 .E523 1996

Smith, A. F. (2004). The Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. [REF] TX349+E45 2004

Tucker, A. B. (2004). Computer science handbook (2nd ed.). Boca Raton, FL: Chapman & Hall/CRC. [REF] QA76.C5755 2004

Vuilleumier, F., & American Museum of Natural History. (2009). Birds of North America (1 American ed.). New York: Dk.; A photographic reference covers more than 650 species--all birds that breed or are regularly seen in North America-- and includes information on behavior, nesting, and habitat. [REF] QL681.B6265 2009

 

Field Guides - check call numbers for those in reference section vs. stacks

Beacham, W., Castronova, F. V., Sessine, S., & Gale Group. (2001). Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Group. This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information. E-Book available through online catalog.

Bishop, A. C., Hamilton, W. R., Woolley, A. R., & Hamilton, W. R. (2005). Guide to minerals, rocks & fossils [Hamlyn guide to minerals, rocks, and fossils] (2nd ed.). Buffalo, N.Y.: Firefly Books.; [REF] QE363 .8.B565 2005

Collin, R. E., & IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society. (1990). Field theory of guided waves (2nd ed.). New York: IEEE Press. QC670.C74 1991

Harrison, H. H., National Audubon Society, & National Wildlife Federation. (1975). A field guide to birds' nests of 285 species found breeding in the United States east of the Mississippi River. Boston: Houghton Mifflin.QL675.H37

Johnsen, O. (2002). Minerals of the world [Mineralernes verden.English] . Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press. [REF] QE363.J613 2002

Lellinger, D. B. (1985). A field manual of the ferns & fern-allies of the United States & Canada. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press. QK524.5 .L45 1985

Menzel, D. H., & Pasachoff, J. M. (1990). A field guide to stars and planets (2 , updat through 1995 ed.). Boston: Houghton Mifflin.; QB64.M4 1990

Ridpath, I., & Tirion, W. (2001). Stars and planets (3rd ed.). Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press.; QB64.R52 2001

Sibley, D. (2009). The Sibley guide to trees (1st ed.). New York: Alfred A. Knopf.; "This book covers the identification of 668 native and commonly cultivated trees found in the temperate areas of North America north of Mexico. This includes most of the continental United States and Canada, an area corresponding to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) plant hardiness zones 1-8" -- p. ix. QK477.2.I4 S53 2009

Tryon, A. F., Moran, R. C., & Massachusetts Audubon Society. (1997). The ferns and allied plants of New England. Lincoln, Mass.: Center for Biological Conservation, Massachusetts Audubon Society.; QK525.5.N48 T79 1997

Wagner, D. L. (2005). Caterpillars of eastern North Axxmerica: A guide to identification and natural history. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press.; QL548.W34 2005

Wherry, E. T. (1961). The fern guide; northeastern and midland United States and adjacent Canada (1st ed.). Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday.; QK525 .W56

Zomlefer, W. B. (1994). Guide to flowering plant families. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press. QK115 .Z65 1994

 

                      

Topic Ideas and Books on Multiple Topics – General Collection

Atoms, stars, and nebulae. Aller, L. H. and Goldberg, L. (Directors). (1971).[Video/DVD] Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press. QB 461 A4a 1971

Asimov, I. (1963). Fact and fancy. New York: Pyramid Publications.Q171 .A69 1963

Atkins, P. W. (1995). The periodic kingdom: A journey into the land of the chemical elements. New York: BasicBooks. QD466.A845 1995

Aveni, A. F. (1992). Conversing with the planets: How science and myth invented the cosmos (1st ed.). New York: Times Books. QB981.A99 1992

Bruton, E. (1986). Legendary gems, or, gems that made history. Radnor, Pa.: Chilton Book Co. TS756.B78 1986

Dietrich, R. V., & Skinner, B. J. (1990). Gems, granites, and gravels: Knowing and using rocks and minerals. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press.QE363.2.D52 1990

Fedoroff, N. V., & Brown, N. M. (2004). Mendel in the kitchen: A scientist's view of genetically modified foods. Washington, D.C.: Joseph Henry Press. TP248.65.F66F436 2004

Flatow, I., & Coale, H. (1988). Rainbows, curve balls and other wonders of the natural world explained (1st ed.). New York: Morrow. Q173.F6 1988; 50019

Forbes, P. (2006; 2005). The gecko's foot: Bio-inspiration: Engineering new materials from nature (1 American ed.). New York: W. W. Norton & Co. T173.8.F63 2006

Francis, M., & Hester, R. T. (1990). The meaning of gardens: Idea, place, and action. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press.SB470.7.M43 1990

Gilman, S. L. (1998). Creating beauty to cure the soul: Race and psychology in the shaping of aesthetic surgery. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press.RD118.5.G55 1998

Gratzer, W. B. (2004). Eurekas and euphorias: The oxford book of scientific anecdotes. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. Q167.G73 2004

Gray, T. W., & Mann, N. (2009). The elements: A visual exploration of every known atom in the universe. New York: Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers.QD466.G73 2009

Horvitz, L. A. (2000). The quotable scientist: Words of wisdom from Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Galileo, Marie Curie, and more. New York: McGraw-Hill.Q173.H739 2000

Kaplan, R. (2001). Science says: A collection of quotations on the history, meaning, and practice of science. New York: W.H. Freeman. Q173.S426 2001

Kitchin, C. R. (1990). Journeys to the ends of the universe: A guided tour of the beginnings and endings of planets, stars, galaxies, and the universe. Bristol; Philadelphia: Hilger. QB44.2.K56 1990

Le Couteur, P., & Burreson, J. (2003). Napoleon's buttons: How 17 molecules changed history. New York: Jeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam. QD37.L34 2003

Meyers, M. A. (2007). Happy accident: Serendipity in modern medical breakthroughs (1st ed.). New York: Arcade Pub. R149.M49 2007

Murray, B. C., Malin, M. C., & Greeley, R. (1981). Earthlike planets: Surfaces of Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, Mars. San Francisco: W. H. Freeman. QB601.M86

Prothero, D. R., & Schoch, R. M. (2002). Horns, tusks, and flippers: The evolution of hoofed mammals. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press. QL737.U4P76 2002

Roberts, R. M. (1989). Serendipity: Accidental discoveries in science. New York: Wiley. Q172.5.S47R63 1989

Robinson, G. W., Scovil, J. A., & Canadian Museum of Nature. (1994). Minerals: An illustrated exploration of the dynamic world of minerals and their properties. New York: Simon & Schuster. QE372.2.R63 1994

Rothschild, M. (1991). Butterfly cooing like a dove (1st ed.). New York: Doubleday.QL544.R67 1990

Shapiro, S. L., & Teukolsky, S. A. (1983). Black holes, white dwarfs, and neutron stars: The physics of compact objects. New York: Wiley. QB843.B55S5 1983

Snyder, C. H. (1998). The extraordinary chemistry of ordinary things (3rd ed.). New York: John Wiley. QD33.S69 1998

Vuilleumier, F., & American Museum of Natural History. (2009). Birds of North America (1 American ed.). New York: Dk. QL681.B6265 2009. A photographic reference covers more than 650 species--all birds that breed or are regularly seen in North America-- and includes information on behavior, nesting, and habitat.

Wilson, B. (2008). Swindled: The dark history of food fraud, from poisoned candy to counterfeit coffee. Princeton: Princeton University Press.TX531.W688 2008. From the Publisher: Bad food has a history. Swindled tells it. Through a fascinating mixture of cultural and scientific history, food politics, and culinary detective work, Bee Wilson uncovers the many ways swindlers have cheapened, falsified, and even poisoned our food throughout history. In the hands of people and corporations who have prized profits above the health of consumers, food and drink have been tampered with in often horrifying ways-padded, diluted, contaminated, substituted, mislabeled, misnamed, or otherwise faked. Swindled gives a panoramic view of this history, from the leaded wine of the ancient Romans to today's food frauds-such as fake organics and the scandal of Chinese babies being fed bogus milk powder. Wilson pays special attention to nineteenth- and twentieth-century America and England and their roles in developing both industrial-scale food adulteration and the scientific ability to combat it. As Swindled reveals, modern science has both helped and hindered food fraudsters-increasing the sophistication of scams but also the means to detect them. The big breakthrough came in Victorian England when a scientist first put food under the microscope and found that much of what was sold as genuine coffee was anything but-and that you couldn't buy pure mustard in all of London. Arguing that industrialization, laissez-faire politics, and globalization have all hurt the quality of food, but also that food swindlers have always been helped by consumer ignorance, Swindled ultimately calls for both governments and individuals to be more vigilant. In fact, Wilson suggests, one of our best protections is simply to reeducate ourselves about the joys of food and cooking.

Wollard, K., & Solomon, D. (1993). How come? New York: Workman Pub. Q163.W643 1993

 

Examples of Writing about Science Topics

Ackerman, D. (2009). Dawn light: Dancing with cranes and other ways to start the day (1st ed.). New York: W.W. Norton & Co. QB637.2.A35 2009. A celebrated storyteller-poet-naturalist explores a year of dawns, drawing on sources as diverse as meteorology, world religion, etymology, art history, poetry, organic farming, and beekeeping.

Balmori, D., & Morton, M. (1993). Transitory gardens, uprooted lives. New Haven: Yale University Press. SB457.4.H64B34 1993

Greenfeld, K. T. (2009). Boy alone: A brother's memoir (1st ed.). New York, NY: Harper. RJ506.A9G73 2009

Greenfield, A. B. (2005). A perfect red: Empire, espionage, and the quest for the color of desire (1st ed.). New York: HarperCollins.TP925.C63G74 2005.  This book recounts the colorful history of cochineal, a legendary red dye that was once one of the world's most precious commodities. Treasured by the ancient Mexicans, cochineal was sold in the great Aztec marketplaces, where it attracted the attention of the Spanish conquistadors in 1519. Shipped to Europe, the dye created a sensation, producing the brightest, strongest red the world had ever seen. Soon Spain's cochineal monopoly was worth a fortune. Desperate to find their own sources of the elusive dye, the other Europeans tried to crack the enigma of cochineal. Did it come from a worm, a berry, a seed? Could it be stolen from Mexico and transplanted to their own colonies? Pirates, explorers, alchemists, scientists, and spies--all joined the chase for cochineal, a chase that lasted more than three centuries.--From publisher description

Jamison, K. R. (2009). Nothing was the same: A memoir (1st ed.). New York: Alfred A. Knopf.RC644.J36 2009. This is the story of Kay Jamison's husband, Richard Wyatt, and his

Magliato, K. (2010). Healing hearts: A memoir of a female heart surgeon (1st ed.). New York: Broadway Books.RD598.M165 2010; RD598.M165 2010

Mitton, S., & Davies, P. C. W. (2011). Fred Hoyle: A life in science (Pbk ed.). Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press. QB36.H75M584 2011

Murray, J. E., & Boston Medical Library. (2001). Surgery of the soul: Reflections on a curious career (1st ed.). Canton, MA: Published for the Boston Medical Library by Science History Publications. RD27.35.M875A3 2001.  Dr. Joseph Murray ’40, Holy Cross alum and Nobel Prize winner, performed the world’s first organ transplant when he removed a kidney from a healthy 23-year-old man and implanted it into his twin brother who was suffering from kidney disease. The successful surgery marked the beginning of a new era in medicine. The Joseph E. Murray, M.D., ’40 Distinguished Lectureship in Medicine award at Holy Cross is named in his honor.

Sacks, O. W. (2010). The mind's eye (1st ed.). New York: Alfred A. Knopf. RC423.S23 2010

Taussig, M. T. (2009). What color is the sacred? Chicago: University of Chicago Press. QC495.3.T398 2009

 

Examples of Resources for Specific Topics

Allen, T. J., Brock, J. P., & Glassberg, J. (2005). Caterpillars in the field and garden: A field guide to the butterfly caterpillars of North America. Oxford, U.K.; New York: Oxford University Press. QL548.A44 2005

Bauer, M. (1969). Precious stones; a popular account of their characters, occurrence, and applications, with an introduction to their determination, for mineralogists, lapidaries, jewellers, etc. with an appendix on pearls and coral [Edelsteinkunde.English] . Rutland, Vt.: C.E. Tuttle Co.549; QE392+B34 1969

Berthier, S. (2007). Iridescences: The physical colors of insects. New York: Springer. QL463.B47213 2007

Białynicki-Birula, I., & Białynicka-Birula, I. (2004). Modeling reality: How computers mirror life. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. QC6.4.R42B53 2004

Blauner, S. R. (2002). How I stayed alive when my brain was trying to kill me: One person's guide to suicide prevention (1st ed.). New York: W. Morrow. RC569.B585 2002

Brooklyn Botanic Garden. (1974). Handbook on dwarfed potted trees: The bonsai of Japan. Brooklyn: Brooklyn Botanic Garden.SB435 .P7 1960

Bruton, E. (1986). Legendary gems, or, gems that made history. Radnor, Pa.: Chilton Book Co. TS756.B78 1986

Buonomano, D. (2011). Brain bugs: How the brain's flaws shape our lives (1st ed.). New York: W.W. Norton. QP376.B86 2011. Neuroscientist Dean Buonomano illuminates the causes and consequences of the brain's imperfections in terms of its innermost workings and its evolutionary purposes. He then examines how our brains function--and malfunction--in the digital, predator-free, information-saturated, special- effects-addled world we have built for ourselves.

Colbert, E. H. (1963). Fossils of the Connecticut Valley; the age of dinosaurs begins. Hartford: QE732 .C68; QE732.C68c.

Cronin, H. (1991). The ant and the peacock: Altruism and sexual selection from Darwin to today. Cambridge; New York: Press Syndicate of the University of Cambridge. QL761.C76 1991

Dethier, V. G. (1976). The hungry fly: A physiological study of the behavior associated with feeding. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press.QL537.C24D47; 595.7/74

Eliot, L. (2009). Pink brain, blue brain: How small differences grow into troublesome gaps--and what we can do about it. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. QP81.5.E45 2009; neuroscientist shatters the myths about gender differences, arguing that the brains of boys and girls are largely shaped by how they spend their time, and offers parents and teachers concrete ways to avoid reinforcing harmful stereotypes.

Furst, P. T. (1986). Mushrooms, psychedelic fungi. New York: Chelsea House Publishers. QK617.F94 1986 Examines the uses and hallucinogenic properties of psychedelic mushrooms, one of nature's oldest and most misunderstood drugs.

Hazen, R. M. (1999). The diamond makers. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press.TP873.5.D5H39 1999

Hess, J. (2009). The Galápagos: Exploring Darwin's tapestry. Columbia: University of Missouri Press. QL345.G2H47 2009 "Evolutionary ecologist and photographer John Hess presents the Galápagos in stunning photographs and insightful prose, celebrating the archipelago as a unique place to appreciate the achievements of Charles Darwin and other biologists as well as a place for visitors to experience the wonders of the natural world"--Provided by publisher.

Hill, J. B. (2000). The legacy of luna: The story of a tree, a woman, and the struggle to save the redwoods (1st ed.). San Francisco: Harper San Francisco. SD129.H53A3 2000

Holland, W. J. (1898). The butterfly book; a popular guide to a knowledge of the butterflies of North America. New York: Doubleday & McClure Co.QL549.H7 1900

Holzworth, J. M. (1930). The wild grizzlies of Alaska; a story of the grizzly and big brown bears of Alaska, their habits, manners and characteristics, together with notes on mountain sheep and caribou, collected by the author for the United States biological survey. New York; London: G.P. Putnam's sons. QL737.C2H7

Hovanec, E. M., & NetLibrary, I. (2000). I wonder what it's like to be a butterfly (1st ed.). New York: PowerKids Press. QL544.2.H68 Introduces the physical characteristics, habits, and behavior of butterflies.

Hudler, G. W. (1999; 1998). Magical mushrooms, mischievous molds. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press.QK603 .H79 1999

Kazlowski, S., & Roosevelt, T. (2008). The last polar bear: Facing the truth of a warming world: A photographic journey (1st ed.). Seattle, WA: Braided River.QL737.C27K39 2008

Klotz, I. M. (1986). Diamond dealers and feather merchants: Tales from the sciences. Boston: Birkhaüser. Q173.K5735 1986

Land, M. F., & Tatler, B. W. (2009). Looking and acting: Vision and eye movements in natural behaviour. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. QP477.5.L36 2009

McBee, L. (2008). Mindfulness-based elder care: A CAM model for frail elders and their caregivers. New York: Springer Pub. RC953.8.A48M23 2008

Meyer, H. W. (2003). The fossils of Florissant. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Books. QE747.C6M49 2003

Offit, P. A. (2008). Autism's false prophets: Bad science, risky medicine, and the search for a cure. New York: Columbia University Press. RJ506.A9O34 2008

Parker, A. (2003). In the blink of an eye. Cambridge, MA: Perseus Pub. QE770.P37 2003. Evolution.

Peto, J. (2007). The heart. New Haven: Yale University Press. QM181.P48 2007

Poizner, H. (1990; 1987). What the hands reveal about the brain (1 MIT Press pbk ed.). Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press. RC387.5 .P65 1990

Roach, M. (2003). Stiff: The curious lives of human cadavers (1st ed.). New York: W.W. Norton & Co. R853.H8R635 2003

Rouse, C. M. (2009). Uncertain suffering: Racial health care disparities and sickle cell disease. Berkeley: University of California Press. RC641.7.S5R68 2009

Ruggles, D. F. (2008). Islamic gardens and landscapes. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press. SB457.8.R85 2008

Russell, V. (1997). Edith Wharton's Italian gardens (1 North American ed.). Boston: Little, Brown and Co. SB466.I8 R87 1997

Sanders, C. (1999). Understanding dogs: Living and working with canine companions. Philadelphia: Temple University Press. SF426.S25 1999

Shifu, H. (2010). Herbal surgeon: Immortal cancer care. Bastrop, TX: Shifu Hwang. RC271.A62S554 2010 Methods for treating cancer include surgery, chemotherapy, radiation, hormone treatment, and immune boosting treatments. The statistics show that these methods do not really work, especially for late stage cancer patients. Shifu Hwang introduces Chinese Taoist methods for treating cancer patients which were used 500 years ago. Great results have been seen when the Immortal Taoist formulas and methods are used on cancer patients today.--from publisher's description

Simoncini, T. (2007). Cancer is a fungus: A revolution in tumor therapy (2nd ed.). Casale Marittimo PI: Edizioni Lampis. RC268.5.S56 2007

Stirling, I., & Guravich, D. (1998; 1988). Polar bears. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press. QL737.C27 S726 1998

von Frisch, K. (1955). The dancing bees; an account of the life and senses of the honey bee (1 American ed.). New York: Harcourt, Brace. QL568.A6F9 1955

Winslade, W. J. (1998). Confronting traumatic brain injury: Devastation, hope, and healing. New Haven: Yale University Press. RC387.5.W55 1998

                                                                                                                                             

Religion and Myth

 Man, myth, and magic: the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion,...[REF.] BF1407 M34 1994

 
                                                                                                                    
Geography, Anthropology, and Recreation
Encyclopedia of Chinese symbolism and art motives...[REF.] GR335 W53 1961
Outlines of Chinese symbolism and art motives...[REF.] GR335 W53 1976
 Funk & Wagnall's Standard Dictionary of Folklore Mythology... [REF.] GR35 F98
 The Folklore of World Holidays. [REF.] GT3930 + F65 1991
 Encyclopedia of food and drink in America. [REF.] TX349 + E45 2004, v.1&2
         
Social Sciences and Statistics
Statistical abstract of of the United States...[REF.] HA202 U5 2011 (earlier years in stacks)
The Value of a Dollar 1860-1999 Millenium Edition. [REF.] HB U6 + V35 2009
Music
The great song thesauris. [MUS. REF] ML128 S3 L4 1989
The Pro/Am book of music and mythology. [MUS. REF.] ML3849 P76 1992
Oxford Music Online

Art
The dictionary of art. [REF.] N31 D5 1996
 Oxford Art Online
 World Painting Index. [REF.] ND45 H38 1977

Language and Literature
OED-Oxford English Dictionary (online)
OED - Oxford English Dictionary. [REF.] PE1625 O87 1989 (20 vols.)
 Random House historical dictionary of American slang. [REF.] PE2846 H57 1994
 A Dictionary of Literary Symbols. [REF.] PN56 S9 F47 1999
 The Oxford dictionary of modern quotations. [REF.] PN6080 O95
 Oxford dictionary of phrase, Saying & Quotation. [REF.] PN6080 O945





Interlibrary Loan


Citation Guides and Bibliographic Management Tools

 ·<font style="font-s

 

Academic Honesty

College of the Holy Cross Academic Honesty Policy

Understanding plagiarism : a student guide to writing your own work / Rosemarie Menager-Beeley, Lyn Paulos.  Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c2006. - PN167 .M46 2006

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip